Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Overview of Citation Software at MIT: Managing Your References 

Last update: Nov 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/references  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Comparison of Citation Software at MIT            Print Page
  
 

Training

Upcoming classes

Managing Your References (1:01:18) - describes three different tools for managing citations: EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero.  Recorded in Spring 2008. MIT ONLY.

Video tutorials on citation management tools

 

Citation Management Support

Contact us at:
cite-help@mit.edu

 
 

Full Comparison of Citation Software

 

 

EndNote

RefWorks

Zotero

Link to web guides Technical Support & Services Quick-Start Guides Documentation

Type

Desktop client software; also has web interface, EndNote Web, through ISI Web of Knowledge

Web-based

Desktop software available as Firefox extension that lives in browser

Cost

Must purchase client software, available at MIT Coop, or at a discount through Gov Connection; web version free for MIT

Free via MIT license. See the RefWorks guide for more information.  Sign up for an individual account on the RefWorks website. (MIT only)

Free; open-source Firefox extension. Download Firefox, then download Zotero.

Learning curve Takes longer to learn, but not difficult with training Fairly quick to learn; many online user guides and demos Quick to learn; simple design, many online user guides and demos

Strengths?

  • Excellent for organizing citations for papers and theses
  • Best option for major research projects, because it offers the most options for customization and formatting
  • Most widely used product at MIT
  • Most output styles for formatting
  • Most customizable
  • Can handle a large amount of references
  • Allows users to share citations
  • Good for organizing citations for papers
  • Web-based
  • Since MIT has a site license, there's no cost
  • Simple download of records
  • Good for managing a variety of formats, including webpages
  • Offers most functionality in a free, open-source product
  • Downloads records from with several databases that don't work with EndNote and RefWorks, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and USPTO

How does it work?

You export references from compatible databases into EndNote

You export references from compatible databases into RefWorks

Zotero senses when you are looking at an item and shows an icon for it in the Firefox location bar.  Click the icon to add the item to your Zotero references

Does it have many output styles and bibliographic formats?

Yes, many popular styles and formats

Yes, numerous popular bibliographic formats, but not as simple to change as in EndNote

Some popular styles, but not nearly as many as in EndNote and RefWorks

How simple is it to import records? Simple to import records from most research databases Simple to import records from most research databases Very simple, as long as the resource is compatible with Zotero, but you will want to verify that the records are complete after import

What kinds of records can you import and organize (pdfs, images, etc.)?

Most helpful for organizing records for articles and books; pdfs and other file types can also be stored in the records.  Can download pdfs in batches. 

Records for articles and books

Books, articles, patents, and webpages; Can also store pdfs, web screenshots, files, and images in records. You can make pdfs searchable by choosing to index them in the preferences menu.

Are records in your library viewable by others? No Yes; Users can share references in library with other RefWorks users Yes; in Zotero 2.0, users can set up individual and group profiles and share records
Can you export records to other software? Yes Yes Yes, but more limited in export types
Is managing and maintaining a big library (1000 records) complicated? Not complex; EndNote is best option for maintaining large libraries Not complex, but it can be cumbersome to manage large libraries More difficult; takes time to sort out duplicates and verify that records are complete
Does it work with word processing software? Clean integration with Word and powerful formatting and customization features; also works with LaTex through BibTex Works with Word through "Write-N-Cite" feature and LaTex through BibTex Works with Word and Open Office; also works with LaTex through BibTex and Google Docs
Other important features
  • PDF file management and organization features
  • Since it's web-based, you're not limited to a single machine
  • Integrated with work that you do
  • Fastest download of records
  • Saves snapshot of web pages
  • Allows users to highlight text and take notes on page
  • Allows users to tag records
 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait