MughalOttomanSafavid
General Image ResourcesCountry & Region-specific ResourcesManuscriptsIslamic Painting
Mosques in the United States
Archnet FAQ
This is the "About" page of the "Islamic architecture - Aga Khan Documentation Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Supporting teaching of, and research on, the history and theory of architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual and material culture, and conservation, as well as the practice of architecture, in Muslim societies.
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/islam-arch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find books & films

Use these links to find books and films in the MIT Libraries purchased by the Aga Khan Fund for Islamic Architecture.

 

About the Center

Situated within the MIT Libraries, the Aga Khan Documentation Center, a part of the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture (AKPIA) at MIT and Harvard, was established in 1979 by a gift from His Highness the Aga Khan.  The Center supports teaching of, and research on, the history and theory of architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation, as well as the practice of architecture, in Muslim societies, with particular focus on the research and teaching activities of the faculty, students, and post-doctoral fellows at AKPIA.

The Center funds acquisitions and cataloging of visual and printed documentation on the visual and material cultures of the Islamic world, building rich collections in all languages and formats in these subject areas.  In addition, the Center provides research, reference, and outreach services. The Aga Khan Documentation Center acquires research materials not commonly found in other collections in North America for the MIT Libraries, including a wide range of specialized periodicals, monographs on architecture, urban planning and development, maps, and documents of preservation and planning authorities.  Through the acquisition of select personal archives, the Documentation Center is a repository of primary research materials.

A part of the Documentation Center, the Aga Khan Visual Archive consists of nearly 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment.  Begun in 1980 with images donated by graduate students traveling on AKPIA Travel Grants, scholars, architectural firms, and the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, the Archive continues to grow.  Images in the Archive document historic and contemporary sites in the Islamic world, including many sites not found in any published resource or those that are no longer accessible or have been destroyed.

In addition, the Aga Khan Documentation Center is responsible for the curation of the intellectual and content core of Archnet, an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.  Over the past ten years, Archnet has worked to provide digital access to the collections of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture in Geneva, Switzerland, and the Aga Khan Documentation Centers at MIT and Harvard, resulting in a growing library of over 79,000 images and 6,000 publications.

The Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT Libraries is partnered with the Documentation Center of the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at Harvard University.  Harvard and MIT affiliates have reciprocal access to library collections at both institutions.  The Centers provide, acquire, and borrow materials necessary to produce the best scholarship possible and through planned activities, aim to play a significant role in bringing together the various interests and fields of inquiry from both institutions.

 

Images

Program Head

Profile Image
Sharon C. Smith, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Aga Khan Documentation Center
Building 7-238
617.324.5022
Send Email

Visual Resources Librarian for Islamic Architecture

Profile Image
Andrea Schuler
Contact Info
Aga Khan Documentation Center, Rotch Library 7-238
617-253-6129
Send Email

Archnet Content Manager

Profile Image
Michael A. Toler, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Aga Khan Documentation Center
Building 7-238
617-253-2955
Send Email

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip