This is the "Aga Khan Visual Archive" page of the "Islamic Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islamic Architecture  

Information about finding images of Islamic architecture and the Islamic world.
Last Updated: May 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/islam-arch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Aga Khan Visual Archive Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

AKVA Images

Recent images from the Aga Khan Visual Archive uploaded into DOME:  

United Arab Emirates: Dubai & Abu Dhabi

bird's eye view of Dubai

Dubai Marina

Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque

Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque

Photographs (c) Chandan Deuskar 2010

 

Aga Khan Visual Archive

The Aga Khan Visual Archive (AKVA) consists of nearly 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment in the Islamic world, donated by graduate students traveling on AKPIA Travel Grants, scholars, and architectural firms.  The images span a 30-year period and document historic and contemporary sites in the Islamic world, often depicting sites not found in any published resource or that have been destroyed or are no longer accessible.

For more information about the Archive and its holdings, to request a reproduction or to donate images, please contact Andrea Schuler.

Access

Selections of the AKVA have been digitized and included in ArchNet's Digital Library and MIT Libraries' DOME.

Most of the archive is in slide form and digitized images represent only a percentage of total holdings.  If you do not find what you are looking for, please contact the AKVA and we will assist you in locating relevant images in the collection.  The Archive is open by appointment to the MIT community and the public.

Reproductions

The AKVA is able to offer high-resolution reproductions of many of its images for educational and scholarly use as well as for publication.  Refer to the Forms section to the right for samples of our permissions forms.

Donating to the Archive

Photographers who donate images to the AKVA retain copyright while allowing their images to benefit research and scholarship in Islamic architecture.  Refer to the Image Use Agreement in the Forms section to the right.

AKPIA Travel Grant recipients can refer to the "AKVA Travel Grant Image Guidelines" information sheet in the Forms section below.

Aga Khan Visual Archivist

Profile Image
Andrea Schuler
Contact Info
Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture Documentation Center, Rotch Library 7-238
617-253-6129
Send Email

Program Head

Profile Image
Sharon C. Smith, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture
Documentation Center
Building 7-238
617.324.5022
Send Email
 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | MIT | Contact Us

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip