Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Writing on Contemporary Issues: Social and Ethical Issues 

Course page for Andrea Walsh's section of 21W730 (section 3), Fall 2009
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/21w730-03  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles            Print Page
  

Finding Articles

All of the databases listed below will take you to articles published from a variety of sources--scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.

  • Vera Multi-Search  
    Much like a search engine of search engines, Vera Multi-Search will search through several article databases at once to find you information. Click on "Databases by Subject" to get a list of databases for a specific field.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
    Covers many different subject areas and many different media, from scholarly journals to newspapers to magazine.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
    Good source for newspaper and magazine articles. Allows you to limit your search to articles from online magazines.
  • Alternative Press Index  
    Covers many alternative, radical, and left publications that address political, economic, social and cultural issues.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
    A full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses.
  • Web of Science  
    Covers high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals. Note: to access the entire text of articles, be sure to set your browser to allow pop-ups.
  • Project Muse  
    A collection of major scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • JSTOR  
    Provides access to scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines over many decades, although may not include issues from past 5 years.

Research Databases by Subject

Not sure what the best database is for your subject? Look it up on this list--each subject link contains a list of the best places to search

How to Find Out More about a Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper

Ulrich's International Periodicals is a great way to learn more about a magazine, journal, or newspaper:

  • Each entry can tell you whether the title is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
  • Peer-reviewed (or refereed) titles have a symbol shaped like a referee's shirt next to them.
  • Some entries have reviews, which can sometimes tell you a publication's political slant.
 
 

Questions?

Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator, Humanities Library
szarko@mit.edu
(617) 258-8022

 

If Mark's not around, try:

Ask Us! - for quick reference questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait