Table of Contents
Chemical & Materials Properties
General Resources:
By Material:
By Property:
By Substance:
Spectra Resources
The follow resources are online. For print materials in the Science Library, scroll down.
- SciFinder [MIT only]The most comprehensive chemical information discovery tool; allows you to explore the CAS databases which contain literature from many scientific disciplines. Registration required. Click to access SciFinder directly.
- Knovel Handbooks [MIT only]
- Beilstein/Gmelin via Reaxys [MIT only]A web-based interface for three chemical information databases: CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Click to access Reaxys directly.
- NIST Chemistry WebbookThese spectra from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology can be searched by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS #, and selected physical property data.
Spectra: IR (16,000), MS (15,000), UV (1,600) - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBSAbout two-thirds of the compounds in this database from the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan) contain 6 - 16 carbon atoms. Lab measurement details are provided. The database can be searched by variety of parameters (compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS #, nmr peak positions, mass number, etc.
Spectra: ESR (2,000), 1H NMR (13,900), 13C NMR (12,000), IR (49,000), MS (21,800), Raman (3,500) - EPA Reference Absorbance SpectraThis covers spectra of 189 air pollutants mandated by Title III of the Clean Air Act. Spectra are grouped by chemical name, CAS # and molecular formula. Experimental measurement details such as cell path length, temperature, and concentration (ppm) are provided. Spectra are in spc format and are viewed using a free Windows-compatible viewer called ShowSPC.
Spectra: FT-IR (189 interferograms) - Protein Infrared DatabaseThese FT-IR spectra are from Dr. Aichun Dong, John F. Carpenter, and Winslow S. Caughey in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Northern Colorado. Spectra are in spc and spa format, and measurement conditions are specified.
Spectra: FT-IR - Combined Chemical Dictionary [MIT only]This resource cites references (look in the references section at the end of each dictionary entry) to spectra in the Aldrich libraries and the journal literature. A free plug-in (downloadable at the site) is needed to draw and upload graphical structure queries.
Spectra: NMR, IR - NMRShiftDBNMR spectra can be located using searches by title, structure/substructure and chemical shift data.
Spectra: NMR - Sigma-AldrichOnline chemical products catalog provides access to many NMR, IR & Raman spectra. Use the "Click for Search" link, then search by product name, catalog number, CAS number, MDL number, molecular formula. In the results list, click on the product # of interest to access the product information screen, which includes links to any available spectra. Spectra can be saved to a pdf file, printed, or e-mailed.
Spectra: IR, NMR, Raman
Print Spectra Resources
Note: All resources listed in this box are books and links go directly to Barton.
- Handbook of organic compounds : NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra featuring polymers and surfactants
- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
- Proton and carbon NMR spectra of polymers (2003)
- Handbook of Fourier Transform Raman and Infrared Spectra of Polymers (1998)
- Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra (1993)
- Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra (1985)
- Eight Peak Index of Mass Spectra (1991)
- Handbook of Mass Spectra of Environmental Contaminants (1992)
- UV-VIS Atlas of Organic Compounds (1992)
- Sigma library of FT-IR spectra (1986)
- Handbook of ultraviolet and visible absorption spectra of organic compounds (1967)
Print Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR), Mass Spectrometry (MS) and Infrared Spectroscopy (IR / FT-IR)
Note: All resources listed in this box are books and links go directly to Barton.
- NMR Spectra Of Polymers and Polymer Additives (2000)
- Proton and Carbon NMR Spectra of Polymers (2003)
- Encyclopedia of Mass Spectrometry
- Atlas of IR Spectra of Organophosphorus Compounds : Interpreted Spectrograms (1990)
- Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
- Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts (1997)
Subject Experts
Erja Kajosalo
Librarian for Chemistry & Chemical Engineering,
Engineering & Science Libraries
Angie Locknar
Materials Science & Engineering Librarian,
Mechanical Engineering Librarian,
Engineering & Science Libraries
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Loading...
