Statistics and reports on China's population, economy, and industries at the county or city level.

Indexing and fulltext content of articles in scholarly Chinese-language journals in political science, military affairs, law, economics, and management. 1994-present.

Online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

A collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 35,000 declassified documents - totalling more than 200,000 pages - have been gathered through use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Includes following collections: China and the U.S., 1960-1998; Japan and the U.S., 1960-1976; Japan and the U.S., 1977-1992.

Field notes, letters, maps, photographs, and published materials relating to a range of worldwide expeditions from 1626 to 1953. Browse by region to find material documenting Asia.

Thousands of newspapers, available in full-page facsimile, with searchable full text. Most are U.S. titles, with some international coverage, and most are fairly small-circulation newspapers. 1759-present.
[Includes North China Herald, 1850-1926; Japan Advertiser, 1920-1922; Pacific Stars and Stripes, 1948-1999.]

Database of questions from public opinion polls around the world. Search question text and get poll results. 1986 - present.
Please click on 'logout' when finished to release access to another user, as only one user is allowed access at a time.

3500 Chinese-language works on humanities, sciences, and social sciences in China 5000 years of Chinese civilization, compiled between 1773 and 1782. CD-ROM in Humanities Library.

Full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation. 1995 - present.

1868-1942

1849-1986

1881-1986

1851-2006

1889-1992

1877-1993

A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

Thousands of photographs taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946, documenting lifestyles, trades, handicrafts, landscapes, religious practices, and architectual structures that in many cases have all but disappeared from modern China.

Images focusing on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. Thematic image collections are introduced by essays.

Over 100 photographs taken in Yokohama, Kyoto, Shanghai, and Hawaii, as well as many photographs purchased in Japan that document the 1923 earthquake's devastation. Also includes newspaper clippings, telegrams, postcards, and travel keepsakes.

A Japanese scroll that illustrates Commodore Matthew Perry's 1854 landing in Japan, the first official contact between Americans and Japanese, lithographs by the official artist of the Perry expedition, and student writings about these images.

This page links to lists of BPL historical newspaper holdings on microfilm. Their holdings include papers from China and Hong Kong, but coverage is spotty.

This is one of the top libraries in East Asian studies. You can enter and use the resources at the library with your MIT ID, but you can't check anything out.

Digital manuscripts of two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval in China. Images include color paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as photographs, sketches and ephemeral items, depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events, history or art relating to China and the West,1793-1980. Scholarly essays, collections, and interactive and zoomable maps.
At Brandeis.

Brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world.
At Boston College, Northeastern.

A full text Japanese-language collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, journals, TV and news videos, and much more.
At Wellesley.

A comprehensive digital collection for the study of early economic, political, business, and social history for the period 1460-1850.
At Tufts.

English-language Shanghai newspaper. 1895-1937.
In microfilm at Boston College.

Musical recordings in a diverse range of styles from around the world. Search or browse by country of origin, cultural group, instrument, artist, language and more.
Available online through the BPL. You'll need your BPL card, or else sign up for a free e-card.

Searchable online version of the Times of London.
At Tufts, Wellesley, and Boston College.