LibGuides: Materials Science & Engineering: Home

In this guide

Related guides

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Finding articles & research papers

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. Use the button to try to connect to the full text pdf if the full text is not available in the database.

Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
SciFinder-n
Access SciFinder-n at https://libguides.mit.edu/scifindern

First time user? Register here.

Read more on SciFinder-n.
Web of Science
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
ECS Digital Library
Search publications from the Electrochemical Society (ECS), including journals and ECS Transactions (2005 - present).

MRS Online Proceedings Library
Consists of over 70,000 articles from proceedings of Materials Research Society Meetings from 1980 to 2016. After 2016, MRS conference proceedings have been published in the journal MRS Advances.

Books, handbooks, theses

Use these links to books, theses and other related publications to get started. Search our collections, the MIT Libraries catalog, for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries. Or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

ASM Materials Information
Includes the ASM Handbooks, Alloy Finder, and other ASM products.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)
Knovel
Search the full content of hundreds of engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
Dissertations & Theses
1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.

Materials properties

Try the Finding Chemical & Materials Properties guide, or these databases:

Knovel
Use the "Data Search" to search for specific properties found within hundreds of handbooks and other scientific books.
Springer Materials
Known in print as Landolt-Börnstein. Includes 250,000 substances and 3,000 properties. Good for semi- and superconducting materials.
Reaxys
Find properties for organic, inorganic and organometallic substances. Known in print as Beilstein or Gmelin.
Materials Project
Also known as the Materials Genome Project. Search for materials by chemistry, composition, or property. Plus many other features (Phase Diagram App, Reaction Calculation, Crystal Toolkit).
ASM Alloy Center
Search for specific alloys by name, composition or properties. Includes data sheets from Alloy Digest.
ASM Micrograph Center
Micrograph images and associated data for many alloys.

Material ConneXion
A resource for materials and processes with access to 7,500+ material samples as well as contact information for manufacturers. Materials are categorized by type of material including polymers, cement, carbon, glass, and more.

Phase diagrams

Search our collections or Ask Us! for more resources on phase diagrams.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
Includes binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams.
ACerS - Phase Equilibria Diagrams
Search NIST/ACerS phase diagrams for ceramics.

Crystallography

Search our collections or Ask Us! for more resources on crystal structure and crystallography.

Cambridge Structural Database: Web CSD
Web version of the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). For more in depth searching, install the CSD client on your desktop. More information on CSD, including installation instructions for the client.
ICSD: Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
Comprehensive database on inorganic crystal structures.
International Tables for Crystallography

Additional links

The following are freely available sources for materials information:

Fundamental Physical Constants from NIST
MatWeb
MEMS and Nanotechnology Clearinghouse
NIST Ceramics WebBook
NIST Chemistry WebBook
NIST Physical Reference Data
Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants
16th edition of Kaye & Laby reference book. Also in print: QC61.K23 1995
BCC Report
Business market research reports, including those for Materials.

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian

Ye Li

Contact:

yel@mit.edu
Room 14S-202
617.253.9795

How can Ye help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.