Places to Start

• Atlantic History - Oxford Bibliographies
• America: History and Life
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Historical Abstracts
• Knowledge Unlatched
• Open Library of the Humanities
• Oxford Handbooks Online: History
• Oxford Reference Online: History 

Secondary Sources (Articles, Books, and Dissertations)

• Africa Bibliography
• America: History and Life 
• Bibliography of Asian Studies 
• Proquest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) 
• Historical Abstracts
• History of Science, Technology, & Medicine
• Humanities Abstracts
• Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
• Index Islamicus
• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• Web of Science [ISI Web of Knowledge] 
• WorldCat 

History Databases from Outside MIT in the Boston-Cambridge Area

• History Databases from the Boston Public Library (BPL)
  Anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts is eligible for a BPL card or e-card to access electronic resources, including the Archive of Americana collection of early American primary sources.

• History Databases at Harvard Libraries
  MIT faculty, students, and researchers with a Special Borrower Card can visit the Harvard Libraries and use electronic resources on-site. Harvard has over 200 online resources in history, including dozens of primary source databases.

• Biography
• Data & GIS Resources
• Finding Images
• Historical Newspapers
• MIT History
• News, Newspapers, and Current Events
• Science, Technology & Society
• Women's Studies

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.