For more databases and resources, try these research guides:

• Companies

• Industries

• Biotechnology & pharmaceutical industry information

• Market research

• Mechanical Engineering

• Standards

• Patents

See all Research Guides by Subject

Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.

Access MIT Library resources from off campus or direct a web page to reload through the Libraries proxy server.

Article databases

• Compendex/Inspec  - for engineering topics
• Business Source Complete - for management topics
• Web of Science - for searching across many disciplines, includes data on who has cited the paper

News and trade publications

• Factiva - international & U.S. newspapers, trade publications
• Nexis Uni - international & U.S. newspapers, trade publications, legal information
• ABI/Inform Trade & Industry - search for articles and company mentions in industry trade journals

Books & theses

• Search our collections - MIT Libraries catalog, includes MIT Theses
• Knovel - search full text of hundreds of engineering and technical books
• Books24x7 - search full-text of engineering and technical books
• Dissertations & Theses - from schools other than MIT, many full-text

Company research

• Mergent Online - information on 90+ million companies worldwide.
• OneSource - searchable directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies

Industry research

• Business Monitor - reports on 30+ industries in 100+ countries
• IBISWorld Industry Reports - detailed industry reports for US, China

Market research

• Frost & Sullivan - research reports on aerospace, automotive, chemicals, electronics, energy, environment, health care, information & communication technologies.
• Passport - data on consumer demographics and other characteristics. Data on product sales and market size. Covers 200+ countries.

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Quick Answers: social sciences and management provides answers to frequently asked questions. This tool replaced the Dewey Research Advisor.