Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Contact us: Liaison, Instruction & Reference Services

MIT Libraries staff list

About Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services

The liaison librarians, subject experts, and learning specialists of Liaison, Instruction and Reference Services (LIRS) support MIT Departments, Labs, and Centers to ensure they get the most out of information resources and services for their learning and research. Our staff develop and lead library instruction activities, reference services and self-help tools.

Head: Karrie Peterson

Program Head: Lisa Horowitz

Social Sciences &
Management:

Nicholas Albaugh
Michelle Baildon
Tina Chan
Jen Greenleaf
Alena McNamara
Georgiana McReynolds
Jennie Murack
Shikha Sharma

 

 

Arts & Humanities:

Michelle Baildon
Anna Boutin
Lisa Horowitz
Peter Munstedt
Sharon C. Smith
Mark Szarko
Ece Turnator

Science & Engineering:

Phoebe Ayers
Michelle Baildon
Courtney Crummett
Anne Graham
Erja Kajosalo
Michael Noga
Chris Sherratt
Howard Silver
Stacey Snyder
Barbara Williams

Librarians by subject: see Expert librarians

Nicholas Albaugh

Nicholas Albaugh

Nicholas Albaugh

Management and Social Sciences Librarian
for Innovation & Entrepreneurship; Economics Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
nalbaugh@mit.edu | E53-168B | 617.252.1510

Phoebe Ayers

Phoebe Ayers

Phoebe Ayers

Librarian for Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
& Data and Specialized Services
psayers@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.253.4442

Michelle Baildon

Michelle  Baildon

Michelle Baildon

Collections Strategist for Arts & Humanities
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
Liaison to the Science, Technology, & Society Program
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
baildon@mit.edu | baildon.rm (Yahoo IM) | 14S-230 | 617.253.9352

Anna Boutin

Anna Boutin

Anna Boutin

Librarian for the School of Architecture & Planning
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
boutin@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.324.6600

Robert Caplin

Robert Caplin

Robert Caplin

Administrative Assistant, Hayden and Dewey Libraries
Administrative Services; Liaison, Instruction, & Reference Services
rcaplin@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.253.0874

Tina Chan

Tina Chan

Tina Chan

Reference Services Program Manager and Social Sciences Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
tinachan@mit.edu | E53-168d | 617.715.5160

Courtney Crummett

Courtney Crummett

Courtney Crummett

Biosciences Librarian; Coordinator of Ask Us - Chat
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services &
Data and Specialized Services
crummett@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.324.8290

Anne Graham

Anne Graham

Civil and Environmental Engineering Librarian;
GIS Liaison; Reference Coordinator for Barker Library
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services &
Data and Specialized Services
grahama@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.253.7744

Jennifer Greenleaf

Jennifer Greenleaf

Jennifer Greenleaf

Political Science and Social Science Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
jgleaf@mit.edu | E53-168F | 617.253.1689

Lisa Horowitz

Lisa R. Horowitz

Lisa R. Horowitz

Program Head for Liaison and Information Services
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
lisah@mit.edu | 14S-128M | 617.253.9353

Erja Kajosalo

Erja Kajosalo

Erja Kajosalo

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Librarian; Collections Specialist
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services &
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
kajosalo@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.253-9795

Sofia Leung

Sofia Leung

Sofia Leung

Teaching & Learning Program Manager and Liaison Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
sofial@mit.edu | 14S-152M | 617.253-7058

Alena McNamara

Alena McNamara

Alena McNamara

Librarian for the School of Architecture & Planning
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
amcnamar@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617-258-5593

Georgiana McReynolds

Georgiana McReynolds

Georgiana McReynolds

Reference Services and User Experience Librarian;
Liaison for Anthropology
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services &
Technology Planning, Integration, and Experience
gmac@mit.edu | E53-168G  | 617.253.9349

Jennie Murack

Jennie Murack

Jennie Murack

Geospatial Data Librarian & Statistics Specialist
Data and Specialized Services
murack@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.258.6680

Michael Noga

Michael Noga

Michael Noga

Collections Strategist; Earth & Planetary Sciences and
Mathematics Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy and
Liaison, Instruction, & Reference Services
mnoga@mit.edu | 14S-222 | 617.253.1290

Karrie Peterson

Karrie Peterson

Karrie Peterson

Head
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
karrie@mit.edu | 14S-124M | 617.253.9367

Shikha Sharma

Shikha Sharma

Shikha Sharma

Business and Management Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
sharmash@mit.edu | E53-168k | 617.253.5670

Christine Sherratt

Christine Sherratt

Christine Sherratt

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, Energy and Environment,
Nuclear Science and Engineering Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
gcsherra@mit.edu | 14S-134 |  617.253.5648

Howard Silver

Howard Silver

Howard Silver

Head of Data and Specialized Services
Biological Engineering and
Division of Comparative Medicine Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
hsilver@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.253.9319

Stacey Snyder

Stacey Snyder

Stacey Snyder

E-Learning and Instructional Technology Librarian;
Instruction Coordinator for Engineering and Science
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
ssnyder@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.324.6024

Mark Szarko

Mark Szarko

Mark Szarko

Literature, Global Studies and Languages,
Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian

Coordinator for Arts and Humanities
Community of Practice
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
szarko@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.258.8022

Ece Turnator

Ece Turnatorr

Ece Turnator

Humanities and Digital Scholarship Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
turnator@mit.edu | 14S-140M | 617.253.4979

Barbara Williams

Barbara Williams

Barbara Williams

AeroAstro and Physics Librarian;
Coordinator for Science & Engineering Community of Practice
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
barbaraw@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.253.5666

Ask us