Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Data for the world

Africa Web Links

Antarctica

Australia Web Links

Europe Web Links

Worldwide Web Links

Worldwide CDs and DVDs

ESRI StreetMap Premium: Europe

  • Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | G5701.A4.E87
  • Provides detailed transportation data (including streets and highways), land cover and land use for Europe
  • Can be used for geocoding european addresses

Global Planner

  • Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | DVDROM G3200 2004.T63
  • Includes multiple data sets covering the world, such as topographic maps (1:500,000) and vector files (1:1,000,000)

World and Digital Maps for GIS

  • Data for each country includes administrative boundaries, provinces, cities, roads, lakes, rivers and postal codes for some countries
  • 2009 data is available in the MIT Geodata Repository
  • 2004 data: Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G3200 2005.W67. 
  • 2000 data: Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G3200 2000.W67. 

Global GIS

  • Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | DVDROM G3201.A25 2003.G56
  • Contains a digital atlas of the world in a scale of 1:1,000,000.
  • Available data layers and metadata are listed online.

Landsat Mosaics: Worldwide bundle

  • Location: 2000 mosaic: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G2301.A47 2005. T8
  • Location: 1990 mosaic: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G2301.A43 2004. L3
  • Use the indexes in the MIT Geodata Repository to find the appropriate CD and image.