This is the "Home" page of the "Tagging and Finding Your Files" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tagging and Finding Your Files   Tags: archives, digital, metadata, tagging, tools  

Resource companion to the IAP January 2013 presentation and demonstration of Tagging and Finding Your Digital Files, presented by MIT Institute Archives staff Mikki Macdonald and Kari Smith.
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/metadataTools Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tagging and Finding Your Digital Files - presentation slides

The presentation slides are available in Adobe PDF format. 

They are intended for personal use and learning. Created by the staff of the MIT Libraries, the content that is not under copyright by a third party may be used by a CC-BY-NC license.  Please ask us if you have any questions regarding reuse.

Links to Other Library Guides

Storing and Protecting Your Digital Files

This will provide information and resources related to personal digital content management. "Storing and Protecting" has resources to learn about those components of the personal digital content life cycle.

Tools for Understanding Digital Files
by Kari Smith - Last Updated Jul 25, 2013
Guide to resources and archival concepts discussed during IAPril presentation by Kari Smith, Digital Archivist, MIT Institute Archives and Special Collections. 27 April 2012.
540 views this year
Using Images: Copyright & Fair Use
by Ellen Duranceau, Chris Sherratt - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
This guide will introduce the concept of "Fair Use', assist with finding open content for images on the web and touch on the concept of "fair use"
14,892 views this year
 

Guide Overview

This guide provides information and resources for personal digital file management, specifically about embedding metadata (adding tags) to digital files to aid with retrieval, sorting, and providing attributes that will travel with the digital file.

The resources and information were developed by MIT Institute Archives and Special Collections staff in support of the 2013 January IAP session, Tagging and Finding Your Files.

Resources

Digital Archivist

Kari Smith

Metadata Archivist

Mikki S. Macdonald

Metadata Archivist

MIT Libraries, Institute Archives and Special Collections

Subjects:

Metadata; Theses; Open Access;

Institute Archives and Special collections

http://libraries.mit.edu/archives/

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip