MIT Libraries Catalog
To find materials owned by MIT, use Barton:
Piano Music
Shortcuts for Researching a Topic: Online and Print Resources
Finding Books and Articles
(also see the CDs and DVDs tab above)
- Barton (to find materials owned by MIT)
- The main call number section for books on the piano are ML650-ML700.
- For specific topics, search by subject: Piano; Piano--History; Piano--Instruction and Study; Piano--Performance; Pianists; etc.
- Music index.
Ref ML118.M987 and online (MIT only)
Indexes music articles published in journals from 1949-1974 (print) and 1974-present (online). - RILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of music literature. (MIT only)
Contains abstracts of music research (articles, books, dissertations) from 1967 on. - WorldCat (MIT only)
Contains over one billion library records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs. - Google Scholar.
Includes scholarly literature at MIT and beyond.
To broaden your music search, use Vera Multi-Search
Finding Full-text Journal Articles
Finding Music Scores
- For scores in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select Scores from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
- For online Public Domain scores, see Public Domain Music Scores
Finding CDs and DVDs
For CDs and DVDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select CDs or DVDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
Streaming Audio
- Naxos Music Library (MIT only)
More than 500,000 tracks of music, representing 35,200 CDs. - Database of Recorded American Music [DRAM]
MIT only; over 9,800 compositions by American composers and artists from New World, CRI, and other important labels. - Naxos Jazz
MIT only; contains over 22,000 tracks from 2,300 albums representing 500 jazz artists. - Contemporary World Music
MIT only; includes reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres. - Internet Archive
A source for free digital recordings.
Internet Resources
- Oxford Music Online (MIT only) includes:
- Grove Music Online
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
- Oxford Companion to Music
- Instruments (scroll down to Keyboard and Dulcimer)
From the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University School of Music. - Piano Technicians Guild
Contains a wide array of piano-related topics.
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait