LibGuides: WGS.101: Introduction to Women's and Gender Studies: Home

Related MIT Research Guides

Find Images

Digital Public Library
40,708,413 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Flickr Commons
Public photography archive
Pixabay
Over 1.2 million images and videos, available for completely free use under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.
VADS
Over 100,000 images available for educational use.
Life Photo Archive
A digital collection of millions of photographs from LIFE magazine from 1750s to today.
New York Public Library Digital Collection
Prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
For more options: MIT Images Research Guide

Manage Your References

Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.

Newspapers and Magazines

MIT Libraries has direct subscriptions to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times.

Global Newsstream
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal resources. To search just newspapers and magazines, click "Search by subject or topic" above the search bar, and choose "All news."
Factiva
News and magazine articles and business information from over 8000 sources. Includes New York Times. Search by clicking "Search Builder" in top menu.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes about 300 alternative, radical, and left publications covering political, economic, social and cultural issues. 1991 - present.
Historical Newspapers Guide

Search the Libraries Collection

Search our collections
Start by searching our collections. Results include databases, articles, books, and government documents.
Google Scholar
Google's mega search for academic articles. In settings, set your Library Links to MIT to get full text of articles we own.

Primary Sources

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, and the HIV/AIDS crisis. Includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other primary sources from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, GLBT Historical Society, New York Public Library, Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, and elsewhere.
Kanopy
Streaming service for documentaries in all subjects

General Research Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online encyclopedias in many subject areas.
CQ Researcher
Overview of contentious American social or political issues. 1923 to present.
Statista
Portal providing access to statistics on industries, markets, demography, countries & economies.

Check for e-resources

Search for news source by title

Check Your News

Allsides
See issues and political news with news bias revealed. Non-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows stories from from left, right, and center perspectives.
Ad Fontes Media Bias and Reliability Chart
Chart compiled using non-partisan methodology to analyze and rate news for overall reliability and bias.
Factcheck.org
Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
International Fact-Checkers Network
International fact-checkers who adhere to the code of principles put forth by Poynters.
Politifact
PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
Snopes
Fact-checking site
The Weekly Standard Fact Check
Fact checking from the conservative publication.

Articles you need not at MIT?

Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.