LibGuides: Supply Chain Management: Library Resources

Related Guides

For more databases and resources, try these research guides:

See all Research Guides by Subject

Reserve a group study room in Dewey Library

Articles you need not at MIT?

Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.

Suggest a purchase

Suggest a purchase
Request the the library purchase a book to support your research.

Get help with Zotero

Zotero Quick Start Guide

Thesis copyright help

Need help with reusing figures? Have questions about copyright? These links will help!

Reusing figures, images, and other content in your MIT thesis
MIT Policies & Procedures: Reproduction of Copyrighted Material
Specifications for Thesis Preparation: Copyright for your thesis
copyright-lib@mit.edu
Ask experts in the MIT Libraries about your copyright questions

Find a publication 
Find a database

Start Your Research

Getting started:

Search our Collections - Start with a megasearch of the Libraries' books and other collections, plus a large article index. Remember to sign in and choose "Expand Search Beyond MIT Collections" from results to see the most results

Google Scholar - Free resource for scholarly articles, which can be linked to MIT Libraries for full text and cited references

More article databases:

Web of Science - Top-tier peer reviewed journals in engineering, social science and management topics
EBSCO Social Science Databases - Search Business Source Complete, Econlit, Academic Search Complete, and Political Science Complete, Evironment Index, Agricola, Anthropology Plus, Gender Studies Abstracts, Urban Studies Abstracts, LGBTQ+ Source and Education Source
ABI/Inform - Find articles from major business publications and trade publications
Compendex - Covers engineering research journals. Also includes Inspec, for electronics, computing, robotics research
Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection - Scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

More Resources

Books & Theses

Search our Collections - Narrow results to books
WorldCat - Search libraries worldwide to order through interlibrary loan
MIT Theses - At top of page, click "limit search to" and choose "MIT theses"
MIT SCM Theses and Capstone Projects
Dissertations and Theses - (other universities) - citations of theses back to 1861. Full text of most theses from 1997 - present.

Company research

Orbis - Contains information on public and private companies worldwide. It can be used to research individual companies, or to screen for companies meeting certain financial, geographic or operating criteria
D&B Hoovers - searchable directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies

Country research

EIU Country Intelligence - political, economic, & business climate for 200+ countries
Passport - consumer data for 200+ countries
World Development Indicators - demographic & infrastructure data on 200+ countries

Industry research

Fitch Connect - reports on 30+ industries in 100+ countries. Industry sector, economic, political and company research, including political and economic risk analysis.
IBISWorld Industry Reports - detailed industry reports for US, China
EMIS - reports & data on emerging markets in Asian, Latin American, African, Middle Eastern countries

Market Research

News

Nexis Uni - international & U.S. news sources, trade publications, legal information
Global Newsstream - international & U.S. news sources
Factiva - international & U.S. news sources, trade publications

Researching Policy

Congressional Research Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a federal legislative branch agency located within the Library of Congress, serves as shared staff exclusively to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
CQ Researcher
Original, authoritative reports on newsworthy social and political issues covering topics in public policy, law, civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more
Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports - UPenn
Think Tank Search - Harvard Kennedy School Library

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Selected sources

CRB Commodity Yearbook
Provides commodity data including supply & demand, production & consumption, as well as pricing going back to 1939. Click "CRB" in the left margin for access.
Panjiva
Import and export data for millions of products worldwide. Accounts must be requested; contact sharmash@mit.edu.
Shipping Statistics Yearbook
Print resource. Most recent 5 years can be found in Barker Library
BLS Freight Transportation data
UN Review of Maritime Transport
Maritime Administration data & reports
World Trade Organization Trade and Tariff Data
Links to WTO databases and links for finding trade agreements, tariff statistics, and environmental info

Book a Study Room

Go to mycard.mit.edu
Select Room Group > MIT Libraries on the top right drop-down menu (if applicable).
Click the Reserve button next to the room you want (Dewey is e53)
Click the Confirm button to make the reservation.
For more information: Reserve a study room