Home - 3.986: The Human Past - Introduction to Archaeology

Handouts & Presentation

In-Class Presentation Slides
Powerpoint slides from presentation to 3.986 recitations, 9/22/15 and 9/24/15
Library Basics
Obtaining Library Materials from Outside MIT

Citing Sources

Chicago Manual of Style
Quick answers to writing style and editing questions.Includes guidance on citing electronic sources and a section on American English grammar and usage.

Tip: Find Books with Subject Headings

If you have a book that's good for your topic, look for the subject headings. Click them to find similar books.

For example, look up The Great Basin: A Natural Prehistory in Barton or Worldcat. Click on these headings:

Paleo-Indians -- Great Basin
Great Basin -- Antiquities

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Handbooks Online: Archaeology
Scholarly research reviews in archaeology from 15 handbooks.
Includes The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology and others.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
3 vol, 2008.
Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
See article in vol. 1, "Pre-contact Indian History (ca. 20,000 BCE to ca. 1500 CE)."
4v., 2008.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of online encyclopedias and other reference books.
Encyclopaedia Britannica

Articles

Anthropology Plus
Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in Anthropology and related fields.Combines the Anthropological Literature database (from Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute).
America: History and Life
Covers US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media.
NOTE: Limit by "Historical Period" for articles about prehistory.
JSTOR
A full-text scholarly journal archive, back to vol. 1, issue 1, in many fields.
Google Scholar
Google's search engine for scholarly literature. See also Google Search Tips.

Finding Books at MIT

Barton, the MIT Libraries' Catalog

http://libraries.mit.edu/barton
Barton includes books and journal titles owned by all of the MIT Libraries. It does not list journal articles.

Finding Books Outside of MIT

MIT's WorldCat
http://mit.worldcat.org
WorldCat includes books owned by libraries around the world. Use BLC Direct Borrowing, Borrow Direct, or Interlibrary Borrowing (ILB) to request delivery of books from other libraries to MIT.

Tozzer Library
http://hcl.harvard.edu/info/admittance/index.cfm#tozzer
A top anthropology and archaeology library, Harvard's Tozzer Library is open to MIT students. To check materials out, first get a Harvard College Library Special Borrowers Card.

HOLLIS
http://hollisclassic.harvard.edu/
Harvard's online catalog.

Humanities and Digital Scholarship Librarian

Ece Turnator

Contact:

Ece (pronounced AJ)
turnator@mit.edu
Hayden Library Consultation Suite 14S - 2nd floor
617.253.4979
Make an appointment with me

3.986: The Human Past - Introduction to Archaeology: Home

On this page