Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manage your references
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Get help with citation software
Books, news and articles
Library catalog and databases to help you find books, news and articles
Use this to search the libraries collection for books, films, music and more. Search for journal titles, but not articles.
Search libraries across the country and around the world. Search results indicate if MIT owns the book, or if it is available through Borrow Direct. If the book is available through the Borrow Direct, you can request it and have it sent here, usually within a few days.
Proquest Research Library
Indexes thousands of journals, newspapers and magazines in a broad range of subjects. Many articles are available in full text.
Building Green Suite
Information on green design, including information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building. MIT's access includes: Environmental Building News, Greenspec Database of Green Building Products, and High Performance Buildings Database.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times.
Images and data
Search, discover, preview, and retrieve data and view metadata from the MIT Geodata Repository and other partner repositories using a standard web browser.
Greater New Orleans Community Data Center
A product of Nonprofit Knowledge Works, GNOCDC is a data resource for ten Parishes in Greater New Orleans on people, income, housing, education, public safety, health and more. Creates original reports.
Dome - Digitized content from the MIT Libraries' collections
MIT Libraries digital collections can be found in Dome. There are over 70,000 images, maps, and documents.
Louisiana Digital Library
Contains photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more. Primarily historical and cultural.
The GIS & Data lab, housed on the 1st floor of Rotch Library (7-238), is available for use during Rotch's operating hours. Software and one-on-one help is for use by the MIT Community only.
Drop-in help hours
All Libraries will close on March 14th until further notice. See the Libraries' home page for updates.
Email firstname.lastname@example.org to ask questions or schedule a virtual appointment.
How to prepare for remote work with GIS
- Install the MIT VPN to use ArcMap remotely.
- Check out a license for ArcMap if you might have unreliable internet access. Using ArcGIS Pro? Create an ArcGIS Online account to sign in. A personal account will work off the MIT Network, with any internet connection, and you will also have the option of checking out a license if you are without internet.
- QGIS can be installed on any operating system and has minimal system requirements. Never used QGIS? See the QGIS exercise from our Intro to GIS workshop.
- Our lab computers can be accessed remotely. Email us for more information and to reserve a computer.
- Email email@example.com with questions or to schedule a virtual meeting. We're ready to provide the same support virtually that we do in person.
Librarian for the School of Architecture & Planning