Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Look Up
Need a quick fact or more background reading on a topic? The links below will take you to sources that cover many different subject areas.
Encyclopedia covering a wide variety of subjects.
Covers current events & controversial topics
Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works in all disciplines.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Need quick information on an author? This database provides biographical information as well as some criticism on authors from many different fields
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized online encyclopedias covering a variety of topics
Oxford Reference Online
Includes both standard dictionaries as well as more specialized titles from a variety of fields--sciences, social sciences, humanities, and more!
Other Sources of Quick Information
Type the word encyclopedia into the search box below to get a list of our online encyclopedias from Vera. Almost all of them focus on a particular subject area.
Architecture and Design Librarian
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If we're not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of our colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.