Nomad is a browser extension that provides full-text links to library-licensed content and open access articles when browsing the open web.

Watch a brief video overview of how to get and used Nomad

How to get Nomad

• You’ll need to download Nomad to your preferred browser.
• Follow the setup instructions - use in the "Select Organization" drop-down, search for "Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)."

• Once installed, you'll see the Nomad pop up option on any web sites that have scholarly article content.

Using Nomad

Whenever you're on a website with academic articles, LibKey Nomad will automatically check if we provide access to them. If available, you'll see an icon or notification allowing direct access to articles. Here are a few examples.

PubMed

LibKey Nomad behaves much the same way in PubMed, except you may also see links to complete journal issues. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing the chance that you will discover similar articles in the same publication.

Wikipedia

You will also see Nomad In Wikipedia that will help with seeing full text access options in the list of references for Wikipedia entries.

BrowZine is like a digital magazine shelf for academic journals. It lets you browse, read, and save citations to scholarly journals.

You can find journals by title, subject or issn, as well as save journals and articles to your bookshelf for later reference.

Watch a brief video overview of how to use BrowZine

LibKey.io allows you to quickly find article full text by searching for an article's DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed ID).

• The first time you use it, you will be prompted to select your institution - choose "Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
• After that, it will remember you are from MIT and provide links to our subscriptions, as well as any Open Access options, and even links to browse the journal issue in Browzine. 

LibKey integrates with the MIT Libraries catalog, Search Our Collections. LibKey makes finding and accessing full-text articles in the library's collection seamless. When you search, you'll find direct links to available full-text content in your search results.

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.