Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media Studies Materials
Where to Search for Journal Articles, Essays and Other Media
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexes hundreds of communication and media journals with full-text for many articles.
Business Source Complete
Leading source for scholarly articles in business and management.
America: History and Life
Covers US & Canadian history, prehistory-present. Indexes articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, media; with abstracts.
Film Literature Index
700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001 (multi-lingual)
Covers world history (excluding US & Canada), 1450-present. Indexes and abstracts of articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, media.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Covers academic and popular sources for film criticism.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes over 4,000 journals in the fields of literature, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies. 1926 - present.
Full text of articles in many fields. Most recent 5 years are excluded.
Women’s Studies International
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, reports and proceedings in the field of women's studies.
A collection of major journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is roughly from 2000 to the present.
Standard tool for sociology and related disciplines. Abstracts and indexing of journals, book reviews, abstracts for books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. 1952-present.
ACM Digital Library
Portal to ACM publications, including journals and conferences.
Resources from hundreds of European repositories.
Explore interactive documentaries!
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database which indexes and abstracts periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, books, and other publications and provides thousands of full-text articles.
A free, searchable archive of podcasts.
Streaming video service with documentary and feature films from producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Guides
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.