LibGuides: Atmospheric Sciences & Oceanography: Data

Print Sources

Some sources in the Libraries are found in print or on CD. Use Search Our Collections to find these:

World Weather Records

Engineering Weather Data

GHCN Global Daily

World Survey of Climatology

Weather Almanac

NCDC Summary of the Day

Places to begin

Many sites exist on the web which contain atmospheric, oceanic, and other earth science data. The links below can get you started.

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
In 2015, NCEI was formed as a consolidation of NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center, National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.
NCDC Climate Data Online
Find datasets and scroll down to see links to legacy datasets.
NOAA OneStop
Portal to geophysical, ocean, coastal, weather and climate data. Choose a theme and note links to narrower themes, instruments and platforms on the left nav bar.
Quick List to Climatological Data and others
See this for names of datasets.
US Greenhouse Gas Emissions (EPA)
Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)
A major data portal for all aspects of earth science information.
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) Community Data Portal
Climatic Research Unit, Univ of East Anglia
World Bank Climate Change Knowledge Portal
NOAA Central Library Historical Foreign Climate Data
Provides historical climatological data for several countries through scanned images of their older publications.
National Weather Service
Local and current forecasts, warnings, temp and precip
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC), now part of NCEI
Includes World Ocean Atlas/ Database links.
WHOI Data Center
WindandSea
Provides links to several sites reviewed and updated by NOAA Central Library.
Solar Resource Data from the NREL
Links to several solar radiation datasets.
Wind Maps from NREL
NREL hosts many publications, maps and data on all forms of renewable energy.
WindEurope
See statistics and wind resource maps
National Meteorological Library & Archive (UK Met Office)
UK's most comprehensive collections on meteorology, maintaining the public memory of the weather, storing meteorological records and facilitating learning.
Center for Enviroment Data Analysis (CEDA) Archive (UK)
UK's data archive for data from National Environment Research Council funded projects in the Atmospheric sciences and Earth Observation.