Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Architectural Design: Architecture Websites

A-D

Bauhaus (Harvard Art Museums)

archINFORM: A database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present with information of more than 81,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.

Architecture.com (RIBA): Royal Institute of British Architects website includes exhibitions and displays, creative workshops, courses famous buildings, architects and architectural styles and movementsRIBApix is the online image platform. 

Architecture in Italian Renaissance Painting: Online publication written with the National Gallery exhibition 'Building the Picture: Architecture in Italian Renaissance Painting'. This resource exploring the role of architecture in some of the most iconic pictures in the collection.

Asian Historical Architecture: With over 35,000 photos from 1,323 sites in twenty-three countries, this photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with background information and virtual tours. 

Association of Architecture School Librarians Core Reference List

Auguste Choisy (publications)

Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada 1800-1950

Building Technology Heritage Library: Primarily a collection of American and Canadian pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books, and technical building guides. These materials can aid in the preservation and conservation of older structures and support scholarly research.

Cities/Buildings Database: A collection of digitized images scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.

Dynamic Natural Archive Collection (women architects/designers): database for women architects and designers within the United States.

G-Z

Global Cities & Buildings Database: This database documents tall buildings and major structures with more than 60,000 drawings covering over 100,000 buildings.
Gottscho-Schleisner Collection (LOC): With a concentration in northeastern United States, this Library of Congress collection has over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. 

Great Buildings Collection: This resource has selection by the editors of ArchitectureWeek and cross linked to related architecture sites. Included in the collection are photographic images, architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, from a variety of designers and structures.

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes SurveyThis Library of Congress collection includes The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), which document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.

National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH) (Ireland): This state initiative in Ireland documents Architectural Heritage and Historic Monuments post-1700 to aid in the protection and conservation of building heritage.

NYC Building Photos: A part of the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery.

TACS: tile & architectural ceramics in Britain database: This resource has around 6,000 examples of high quality tile and architectural ceramic work ilike sites of tiles, terracotta and faience panels, architectural detailing, and buildings featuring these products in Britain.

CAUSEWAY

undefined

CAUSEWAY (Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web Archive: Archived websites for individual sites across the regions represented by Ivy Plus institutions and beyond. An Ivy Plus Consortium project.

Archnet

undefined Archnet (Islamic architecture & urbanism): An international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures & civilizations.

Single Architect or Building Sites

Ara Pacis 

Digital Hadrian's Villa Project: Access to 3D models and supporting information such as bibliography, interview, photos, art and more of of Hadrian's Villa. 

R. Buckminster Fuller Collection (Stanford Univ.): Curated materials of R. Buckminster Fuller that contain his personal archive, correspondence, manuscripts, drawings and audio-visual materials relating to his career as an architect, mathematician, inventor and social critic.
Vezelay: Visual images of the Benedictine abbey church of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine at Vézelay.