LibGuides: Historical Newspapers: Online Newspapers and Periodicals

Subscription Databases (MIT only)

For more recent digital issues of these papers, check LexisNexis Academic or Factiva. If there are gaps in online coverage, check microfilm holdings, or Worldcat for holdings elsewhere. Note that for copyright reasons, some articles and images by independent contributors are missing from the online versions of these newspapers; in these cases, consult the microfilm version of the newspaper.

African American Historical Serials (African American Religious Life and Culture 1829-1922)
Includes newspapers and magazines, reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African Newspapers, 1800-1922
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940
Atlanta Constitution Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1868-1984
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Oldest black newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia, founded in 1928.
Baltimore Sun Historical Archive
1837-1991
Black Abolitionst Papers
Boston Globe Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1872-1926
Chicago Defender Historical Archive 1909-1975 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Leading African-American newspaper; fought against racial, economic, and social discrimination, reporting on lynching, rape, mob violence, and black disfranchisement. 1909 - 1975.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1849-1986
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
Communist Historical Papers 1919-2013
Connecticut Eastern News 1896
Began Sept. 18, 1894. Ceased in 1898. Frequency: Weekly.
Detroit Free Press Historical Archive 1831-1922
1831-1922
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2015
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020
Ethnic NewsWatch (1950s-present)
Provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
The European Library: Historical Newspapers
NOTE: "Over the course of 2017, we will be working to migrate all data and functionalities of Europeana Newspapers to the Europeana Collections platform. In the meantime, the service may be unresponsive at times and errors may occur; we apologise for any inconvenience."

Fortune Magazine Archive
Coverage: 1930-2000
The Fortune Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing of the American business magazine Fortune, published by Time Inc.

Kikuzo II Visual
A database of the Asahi Shimbun, one of Japan's oldest and largest national daily newspapers, with full text searching from 1985 to the present.
KKK Newspapers (Newspapers from the rise of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s)
"The Ku Klux Klan (KKK) is a historically violent American organization that has operated in three periods to promote white supremacy and white nationalism and resist immigration."
more...less...
See more: https://dp.la/primary-source-sets/second-ku-klux-klan-and-the-birth-of-a-nation
LexisNexis Academic
Includes over 1400 newspapers from around the world. Click "sources" to see a list of titles and coverage (some go as far back as the 1970s). Also includes nearly 300 individual college/university papers.
Los Angeles Times Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1881-1986
National Geographic Archive (1884-present)
The Nation Archive
New Republic Archive
Newspapers.com Library Edition
Digital collection of 19th- and 20th-century newspapers.
New Yorker Archive
Complete archive of The New Yorker, including full page images. V.1 (1925) - present
New York Times Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1851-2006
Norfolk journal and guide
First established under the name The Lodge Journal and Guide The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the leading black southern newspapers (1916-1917, 1921-2010)
People's Daily (Renmin Ribao)
The official daily newspaper of the central government of the People's Republic of China. 1946 - present.
People's Liberation Army Daily (PLA Daily OR Jiefangjun Bao)
PLA Daily (Jiefangjun Bao) is the official newspaper of the military of the Peopleâs Republic of China. This Chinese language database is searchable from 1956-present using an English interface. 1956- present.
Pittsburgh Courier
Coverage: 1911 - 2010 Pittsburgh Courier is one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers. A conservative voice in the African American community, its journalism challenged the misrepresentation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
Readers Guide Retrospective (United States periodicals, 1890-1982)
San Francisco Chronicle Historical Archive
1865-1922
Smithsonian Magazine Archive, 1970-2010
The Times of India (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1838 - 2010
Wall Street Journal Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1889-1992
Washington Post Historical Archive (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
1877-1993

Boston Public Library Databases

Anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts is eligible to use the BPL's online subscription resources. You can log in with your BPL card number, or if you don't have a library card, you can sign up online for a BPL eCard and start using it immediately.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
This collection includes "Early American Newspapers, Series I, II & III" and features cover-to-cover fully text-searchable facsimile images of over 1,000 historical newspapers from all 50 states, enabling researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Harper's Weekly
Complete digital editions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912. Search by full-text, subject heading, or thesaurus-based index, or browse by table of contents, theme, or date. No remote access.
ProQuest Massachusetts Newsstand
* Boston Globe (1980- )
* Boston Herald (7/26/1991- )
* Worcester Telegram & Gazette (1989- )
* Berkshire Eagle (2005- )
* Chicopee Business West (1992- )
* North Adams Transcript (2005- )
* Quincy Patriot Ledger (1991- )
* Plymouth County Business Review (1991- )
* Fitchburg Sentinel & Enterprise (2005- )
* Lowell Sun (2004- )
* Haverhill Gazette (12/31/1992-8/9/1997)
* New Bedford Standard Times (1/4/1992-8/19/1997)

Freely Available Online Historical Newspapers (U.S.)

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
Developed by the Brooklyn Public Library.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
American newspapers from 1789-1963. Bulk downloads and API access available!
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection
Cornell Daily Sun (1880- )
Cornell University's student newspaper.
The Detroit Jewish News and Chronicle
Detroit Jewish News 1942 - Present
Detroit Jewish Chronicle 1916 - 1951
more...less...
Established in 1942 by noted journalist Philip Slomovitz, the independent Detroit Jewish News is one of America’s leading Anglo—Jewish media outlets and the primary information source for the Detroit metropolitan area’s Jewish community.
Freedom’s Journal
The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, published weekly in New York City, 1827-1829.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
From the Digital Library of Georgia. Includes the Cherokee Phoenix, the Dublin Post, and the Colored Tribune.
Google News Archive
A large collection of digitized historical newspapers from the U.S. and Canada. Coverage varies greatly, but some go as far back as the 18th century.
Harvard Crimson Online Archives (1873- )
Hawaiian Newspapers (mid-19th-early 20th c.)
In the Hawaiian language.
Historical Newspapers in Washington
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
Northern New York Historical Newspapers
Occident and American Jewish Advocate (1843-1850)
The earliest American-Jewish newspaper in the United States.
Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers (1847-1871)
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Currently includes The Jewish Criterion (1902-1962).
Quincy [Illinois] Historical Newspaper Archive (1835-1891)
Includes Quincy Daily Herald,Quincy Daily, and Illinois Bounty Land Register.
Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
The Tech (1882- )
Utah Digital Newspapers
From the University of Utah.
Valley of the Shadow (1859-1870)
Civil War-period Virginia newspapers.
Winona (Minn.) Newspaper Project

Freely Available Online Historical Newspapers (International)

Arabian Gulf Digital Archive
A bilingual free and open-access online national archive of the United Arab Emirates. It offers digitized documents about the events concerning the Gulf countries from the 1820s.
Australian Periodical Publications 1845-1850
Digitized newspapers and magazines browseable by title and date or keyword searchable in the table of contents for journals. One title, the Colonial Literary Journal and Weekly Miscellany of Useful Information (6/1844-3/1845) has been fully digitized.
Hemeroteca Digital (Spain, 1772-1933)
This database "consists of 143 titles which comprise 500.000 pages representing a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933.
National Library of Finland Historical Newspaper Library
All newspapers published in Finland 1771-1900, containing approximately 1.7 million pages.
National Library of Israel Newspaper Collection
Hebrew, Arabic papers as well as papers related to the Ottoman Empire and Palestine
National Library of Sweden Digitized Newspapers
Over 200,000 pages of newspaper text and materials from the National Library of Sweden collections.
Papers Past (New Zealand)
19th Century New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. There is no search capability, but click on "Browse Publications" to see titles available and date ranges. When you click on a title, a calendar of available dates appears, click on the desired date to view articles available. Requires download of specific software to view the pages.
Tiden: Nordic Newspaper Digital Library
Full text images of newspapers from Norway, Denmark, Sweden, and Finland from 18th through 20th centuries. Follow the 'Newspaper Archives' to links for each national collection. Note the Norwegian collection is NOT available in English and the Swedish collection requires an ID (user) and password (user).
more...less...
Also see, http://illustrerettidende.dk/iti/main/Forside.xsql?nnoc=iti_pub AND http://www.minervaeurope.org/goodpract/nordiclibrary.rtf

Subject Guide

Ece Turnator

Contact:

Ece (pronounced AJ)
turnator@mit.edu
Hayden Library Consultation Suite 14S - 2nd floor
617.253.4979
Make an appointment with me

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.