Cataloging and Metadata: Resources

RDA

FRBR

• IFLA Final Report on FRBR

Catalogs & Databases

• Amicus / National Library of Canada
• ISSN Portal
• Library of Congress catalog
• Library of Congress Authorities catalog

Committee on Cataloging: Description & Access (CC:DA)

• Registry of all CC:DA documents

CONSER

• CONSER standard record
• Electronic serials issues
• LC serial copy cataloging policy
• Use of Fixed Fields 006/007/008 and Leader Codes in CONSER Records
• CONSER Guidelines for Input of Caption/Pattern and Holdings Data (rev. 2004)

Government Printing Office (U.S. GPO)

• FDLP Desktop (Federal Depository Library Program)
• GPO Cataloging Guidelines (updated March 25, 2002) (PDF)
• Revised Abridged Cataloging Guidelines (revised April, 2007) (PDF)

IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions)

• Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR)

Joint Steering Committee for Development of RDA (JSC)

• Resource Description and Access (RDA)

Library of Congress

• Cataloging & Acquisitions
  • Weekly Classification lists (from 2004)
  • Weekly Subject Headings lists (from 2004)
• Cataloging Distribution Service[Manuals and Documentation]
  • Cataloging Service Bulletin, no. 111 (spring 2006)-
  • CONSER Cataloging Manual updates, no. 3 (2006)-
  • CONSER Editing Guide updates, no. 17 (2006)-
  • Descriptive Cataloging Manual updates, 2006, no. 1/2-
  • Library of Congress Rule Interpretations updates, 2006, no. 1-
  • Subject Cataloging Manual: Subject Headings updates, no. 1 (2006)-

• MARC Standards
  • MARC Code lists
  • MARC 21 Concise Format for Authority Data
  • MARC 21 Concise Format for Bibliographic Data
  • MARC 21 Concise Format for Holdings Data
• National Serials Data Program (NSDP)
• Serial Record Division

 

• Bibliographic Control of Web Resources: A Library of Congress Action Plan - stems from the Library of Congress Bicentennial Conference on Bibliographic Control for the New Millennium: Confronting the Challenge of Networked Resources and the Web, held on November 15-17, 2000.
• Cataloger's Learning Workshop - a clearinghouse portal for cataloging and metadata training resources

NACO

• Corporate Names FAQ
• Guidelines for reporting Bibligraphic File Maintenance for NACO
• Uniform Titles FAQ
• NACO Participants' Manual, 3rd ed. (pdf)

NASIG

OCLC

• Authorities User Guide
  • Authorities Format Tag Chart
• Bibliographic Formats and Standards, 3rd ed.
• Connexion Client documentation
• Librarian's Toolbox - documentation, forms, etc.
• WorldCat Documentation
• Searchable database of OCLC libraries - by code, name, place, etc.
• Technical bulletins
• WorldCat

PCC (Program for Cooperative Cataloging)

• Series FAQ - including LC's series policy of June 2006
• Statistics

More Organizations

• American Library Association
  • ALCTS (Association for Library Collections & Technical Services)
  • Conferences
  • LITA (Library and Information Technology Association)
• ISSN International Center
• NISO (National Information Standards Organization)
• US ISSN Center

MIT Libraries

• Barton (public catalog)
• IR search request (staff use only)
  
• Staff Web
• Vera (public)

MIT (General)

• Activities Committee (MITAC)
• Athena list management
• Autoresponder for MIT e-mail (e.g. vacation e-mail)
• Campus dining
• Center for Work, Family & Personal Life
• Employee Benefits
  • Employee self service
  • Fidelity NetBenefits (retirement)
• IS & T
  • 3DOWN (services status)
  • Computer training 
  • Lynda software training and tutorial classes
  • MIT software for Windows
  • Services by topic
  • Spam Screening
• LifeSites (resources for personal, family, and community life)
• Medical
• OpenCourseWare (OCW)
• Parking and Transportation
• TechTime (web)
• Travel
• VoIP | Phone user guide | Web user guide
• Zesiger Sports and Fitness Center