Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MARC Cataloging: Continuations

Continuations

Overview

The Serials Cataloging Section’s definition of a continuation is a title that has been ordered monographically, but has been cataloged as a serial. However, this definition should not be taken as absolute, as other types of materials are treated as a continuation as well. For example, a new serial/standing order arriving via Serials Acquisitions (SerAcq) that was formerly ordered monographically via Monograph Acquisitions (MonoAcq), or a "Serm" arriving via SerAcq.

For a more comprehensive look at what types of materials arrive in Sercat, see the document Materials delivered to Serials Cataloging Sort Shelf.

A large percentage of continuations are received and processed in Monograph Acquisitions (MonoAcq). They are identified as a continuation by the MonoAcq printout enclosed with the volume. The printout will sometimes have the call number of the previously cataloged volume noted, or other notes such as "latest on ref", "have earlier", or other clues that the title has been previously cataloged as a serial. If the volume is identified as a probable continuation by these notes, it is placed on the Sercat sorting shelf. (In some cases the volume is not identified as a continuation and is routed to Monograph Cataloging. The monograph cataloger searches the title on OCLC, and if serial copy is found (either "Held by MYG" or "No holdings in MYG"), a printout of the serial record is inserted in the piece and placed on the Sercat sorting shelf).

Once on the Sercat sorting shelf, Sercat staff analyze the enclosed printout(s) and route the piece to the appropriate cataloging shelf.

top


Procedure

  • Cataloger looks at the enclosed printout(s) and piece in hand, and retrieves record in Barton (and OCLC if necessary) by the usual search commands (e.g. call number, OCLC number, title, etc.)
  • Cataloger compares piece in hand to the online record and makes necessary changes to the bibliographic record either by altering the record directly on Barton, or by recataloging the title in OCLC. (There are many guidelines (some written, some cataloger’s judgement) as to when to go into OCLC to update the record or when to go into Barton to locally edit the record. Once the decision is made to update via OCLC, then the decision whether to CONSERize the record, lock and replace the record, or just edit the record locally on OCLC needs to be made. For a more comprehensive explanation of these differences, see the CONSER Guidelines document #6 in the Sercat Reference Manual).

Once the bibliographic record is updated either in Barton or OCLC, the piece in hand needs to be processed as follows:

  • If the piece in hand is not barcoded, the cataloger does not need to barcode the piece; the processing units will handle this procedure. Usually, the cataloger will only need to update the summary holdings, and prepare the piece for delivery to the appropriate unit (see below). If the piece in hand is barcoded, there will be an online item that needs to be updated with item specific information. The item for the specific piece will either be attached to an already existing serial record (with or without a copyset), or to the brief MonoAcq on order record.
  • Cataloger wands in the barcode and if the barcode is attached to a serial record, the serial record will be retrieved. (The cataloger should verify that the item is attached to the correct serial record before proceeding. If the item is not attached to the correct serial record, the item needs to be moved to the correct bibliographic record. For a more comprehensive explanation of this procedure see Moving Items from Record to Record.)

top


Full bibliographic record lacking a copyset

Example

Online Catalogue - BRIEF DISPLAY (1 of 1 titles) Local Control # :10811425 Number of holdings :12 CONFERENCE :Symposium on Arabic Linguistics. TITLE :Perspectives on Arabic linguistics : papers from the ... annual Symposium on Arabic Linguistics. OCLC NO. :(OCoLC)22869206 PUBLISHED :Amsterdam ; Philadelphia : John Benjamins, 1990- PHYSICAL DESC :v. ; 23 cm. SERIES :Amsterdam studies in the theory and history of linguistic science. Series IV, Current issues in linguistic theory; LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. HUMANITIES STACKS / 9800012124 Received/Not Yet Av 2. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 / 1 (1987)-7 Serial (1993),9 (1995) 3. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1987 In Library 4. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1988 In Library 5. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1988 In Library ...Continued... Options: Move forward # item Forward Retrieve Full display Prior screen Extend search Limit list Output MARC Order display Review search OPAC parms New search Reset Card print ? help

Line number 1 is the barcoded item that needs to be updated with call number, enumeration and chronology.

To update the item:

1. < Retrieve> <Enter>

2. <Item update> <Enter>, and the following screen displays:

Example

PIECES SUMMARY LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. HUMANITIES STACKS / 9800012124 Received/Not Yet Av 2. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 / 1 (1987)-7 Serial (1993),9 (1995) 3. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1987 In Library 4. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1988 In Library 5. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1988 In Library 6. HUMANITIES STACKS / PJ6106.S9884 1989 In Library ** Last Screen ** Options: Display item/piece record # item Add item Delete item(s) Delete all Sequence holdings Limit list MARC Order display Card print Exit ? help

3. <#item> 1 <Enter>, and the following screen displays:

Example

HOLDINGS DISPLAY Local Control Number: 10811425 Status : Received/Not Yet Available Format : SE Title : Perspectives on Arabic linguistics : papers from the ... annu Author : Symposium on Arabic Linguistics Updated By : Patron : Last out: Update Date: 04/07/98 04:30am Due Date: Created : 04/07/98 Inventory : Due Time: Circ Cnt: 0 (0) 1) Barcode : 39080014515974 Owning Data : MIT,HUMANITIES,, 2) Institution : MIT = MIT : STACKS,980001212 3) Bldg/subloc : HUMANITIES = Humanitie 10) Pend. Action : 4) Collection : STACKS 11) Circ Code : 5) Call# Prefix : 12) Statistics : 6) Call Number : 9800012124 13) Actual Cost : 75.58 7) Copy Number : 14) Placeholder : N 8) Volume\Part# : Current PO# : 9800012124/0001 9) Call#Suffix : Options: Enter specified line number ? help # line Line by line Display notes Circ usage Print Binding entry Card print Status Delete File Exit Additional parameters Owning data

 

4. Update the call number by choosing line 6, Call number.

5. Update the enumeration and chronology by choosing line 8, Volume/Part #.

6. Update any other fields as necessary, such as line 4, Collection.

7. <File> the item.

8. Once the item is filed, you will be back to the PIECES SUMMARY screen in example 2 above, and the summary holdings will need to be updated if necessary, to reflect the newly received piece.

top


Full bibliographic record with a copyset

Example

Local Control # :10295479 TITLE :Who's who in America. OCLC NO. :(OCoLC)01141571 LINKED TITLE :Companion publication to: Who was who in America. 1994, v.3- includes indexes previously issued separately as: Who's who in America. Geographic/professional index. PUBLISHED :Chicago : A.N. Marquis, c1899- PHYSICAL DESC :v. ; 20-31 cm. Use the ALL option for information about all items. Use the Item# option for information about specific item(s). LIBRARY COLLECTION CALL NUMBER -------------- ----------------------------- ------------------- 1. DEWEY REF E663.W627 Library Has: Latest issue only

 

The barcoded item is "hidden", that is, not yet linked to this copyset.

In order to update the hidden item, the cataloger:

1. Goes into CEHI.

2. Wands in the barcode.

3. Follows steps 4-7 above to update the item.

4. Exits CEHI.

5. Goes into HLDM.

6. Links the piece to the copyset.

7. Updates the summary holdings in the copyset if necessary to reflect the newly received piece.

top


On-order record

Example

Local Control # :10841391 Number of holdings :1 TITLE :ADVANCES IN ENVIRONMENT, BEHAVIOR, AND DESIGN; V. 4: TOWARD THE INTEGRATION OF THEORY,...; ED. BY PUBLISHED :NEW YORK PLENUM 1997 LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. ROTCH STACKS / 9800010908 Received/Not Yet Available

 

The on-order record needs to be REPLACED or MERGED with the full bibliographic record. If the full bibliographic record is lacking a copyset, then the REPLACE function is used. If the full bibliographic record has a copyset, then the MERGE function is used. In either case, once the records are merged or replaced, the online item needs to be updated with call number, enumeration and chronology, and summary holdings updated when necessary.

top


On the physical piece, the cataloger:

1. Writes call number (if classed or half-classed) on verso of title page (if hardbound) or affixes label (if classed or half-classed) to upper left hand corner of piece (if softbound).

2. Puts a red line on the barcode.

3. Places the piece on the appropriate book truck (bindery truck if hardbound, mail truck if softbound).

4. Records the continuation on the statistics sheet.