Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MARC Cataloging: Deletion of Bibliographic Records

Deletion of Bibliographic Records

Overview

There are three types of records that can be deleted from Barton. The first type is an on-order/brief record, the second is a full bibliographic record lacking a copyset, and the third is a full bibliographic record with a copyset. In all cases, any items attached to these records must be deleted before the bibliographic record can be deleted. Once the items are deleted, the process for deleting the on-order/brief record, and the full bibliographic record differ.

The on-order/brief record has its attached items deleted in Barton, and then has its bibliographic record deleted directly in Barton. On the other hand, the full bibliographic record lacking a copyset has its attached items deleted in Barton, but its bibliographic record is NOT deleted in Barton, but in OCLC by the <DELH> command. The <DELH> command in OCLC will delete the bibliographic record in Barton during the next day’s load of records from OCLC to Barton. The full bibliographic record with a copyset has its copyset deleted in Barton, and after waiting for the overnight Barton processing to delete the copyset, it is deleted in OCLC via the <DELH> command.


Deleting an on-order/brief record

1. Display the record.

Example

Online Catalogue - BRIEF DISPLAY (1 of 1 titles)

Local Control # :10845510 Number of holdings :1 AUTHOR :INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE TITLE :ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE TECHNOLOGY; ED. BY L.C. ZHANG. PUBLISHED :SINGAPORE WORLD SCIENTIFIC 1997 LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. BARKER STACKS / 9800013205 Received/Not Yet Available Last Page Options: Display item/piece record # item Retrieve Full display Prior screen Extend search Limit list Output MARC Order display Review search OPAC parms New search Reset Card print ? help

 

2. <Retrieve> record:

Example

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGUING Local Control # : 10845510 Transaction type : Acquisitions Last updated : 10 MAR 1998 Leader : nbrz 2 Cataloguer : System 008 980309n xx | u||| ||und u 020 BB a 9810231369 100 10 a INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE 245 10 a ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE TECHNOLOGY; ED. BY L.C. ZHANG. 9 [Q] 260 BB a SINGAPORE b WORLD SCIENTIFIC c 1997 980 BB b 42.00 g 1 982 BB a 98065131803 b 101011 Options: Use arrows to move, First letter to jump, and <ENTER> to select ? help # tag Leader Copy cataloguing Overlay workform Item update Link Unlink Reformat Restore Replace Merge Labelled display Print Backward Forward File Exit Toggle mode

 

3. <Item update>

Example

PIECES SUMMARY

LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. BARKER STACKS / 9800013205 Received/Not Yet Available ** Last Screen ** Options: Display item/piece record # item Add item Delete item(s) Delete all Sequence holdings Limit list MARC Order display Card print Exit ? help

 

4. <Delete all>--Items will be deleted, and you will return to the BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGING screen (example 1 above).

NOTE: Now that the items have been deleted, you need to delete the bibliographic portion of the on-order of brief record.

5. From the BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGING screen: <File>, and the following screen appears:

Example

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGUING Local Control # : 10845510 Transaction type : Acquisitions Last updated : 10 MAR 1998 Leader : nbrz 2 Cataloguer : System 008 980309n xx | u||| ||und u 020 BB a 9810231369 100 10 a INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE 245 10 a ADVANCES IN ABRASIVE TECHNOLOGY; ED. BY L.C. ZHANG. 9 [Q] 260 BB a SINGAPORE b WORLD SCIENTIFIC c 1997 980 BB b 42.00 g 1 982 BB a 98065131803 b 101011 Enter cataloguing status:

6. Enter <4> (which is the choice to delete a record from the main database) at the <Enter cataloging status> line. You will then be asked to answer Y or N to confirm that you want to delete this record. Once you confirm with <Y>, the record is deleted from the database.

top


Deleting a full bibliographic record lacking a copyset

1. Display the record.

Example

Online Catalogue - BRIEF DISPLAY (1 of 1 titles) Local Control # :10289019 Number of holdings :1 TITLE :Advances in oral biology. OCLC NO. :(OCoLC)01461232 PUBLISHED :New York, Academic Press. PHYSICAL DESC :4 v. ill., diagrs., tables. 24 cm. LIBRARY COLLECTION / CALL NUMBER STATUS / DUE DATE -------------- --------------------------------------- ------------------- 1. SCIENCE STACKS / RK24.A244 / v.1, 1964, v.3, Serial 1968-v.4, 1970 Last Page Options: Display item/piece record # item Retrieve Full display Prior screen Extend search Limit list Output MARC Order display Review search OPAC parms New search Reset Card print ? help

 

2. Follow steps 2-4 above to <Delete all> items.

 

NOTE: Now that the items have been deleted, you need to delete the bibliographic record from OCLC via the <DELH> command, which in turn will delete the full bibliographic record in Barton the following day.

The easiest way to access the record in OCLC is via the OCLC control number, which is located in the 035 field of the BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGING record below. (If there are multiple 035 fields, choose the first 035 field: always verify that the record that you retrieve in OCLC is the same record that you want deleted.)

Example

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC CATALOGUING Local Control # : 10289019 Transaction type : BNA Authorities Conversion Last updated : 15 OCT 1992 Leader : nas 2 Cataloguer : System 008 750720d19641970nyu x1 0 a0eng d 010 BB a 64014221 022 0B a 0065-3020 030 BB a AORBAI 035 BB a (OCoLC)01461232 035 BB a GLIS00289019 035 BB a (OCoLC)05134166 040 BB a MUL c MUL d NYG d OCL d DLC Options: Enter tag number ? help # tag Leader Copy cataloguing Overlay workform Item update Link Unlink Reformat Restore Replace Merge Labelled display Print Backward Forward File Exit Toggle mode  

5. Note the OCLC control number in the 035 field either by hand, or by cut and paste.

6. <Exit> the Barton record.

7. Display the record in OCLC.

Example

Beginning of record displayed. OLUC an #01461232 Record 1 of 1 HELD BY MYG - 168 OTHER HOLDINGS OCLC: 1461232 Rec stat: c Entered: 19750720 Replaced: 19950808 Used: 19980127 Type: a ELvl: Srce: d GPub: Ctrl: Lang: eng BLvl: s Form: Conf: 0 Freq: MRec: Ctry: nyu S/L: 0 Orig: EntW: Regl: x ISSN: 1 Alph: a Desc: SrTp: Cont: DtSt: d Dates: 1964,1970 Ý 1 010 64-14221 Ý 2 040 MUL ßc MUL ßd NYG ßd OCL ßd DLC ßd NSD ßd SER ßd NSD ßd NST ßd DLC Ý 3 012 3 ßi 8810 Ý 4 019 5134166 Ý 5 022 0 0065-3020 Ý 6 030 AORBAI Ý 7 035 0013198 ßb MULS ßa PITT NO. 0165000007 Ý 8 042 nsdp Ý 9 050 10 RK1 ßb .A35 Ý 10 060 0 W1 AD689 Ý 11 069 1 A14760000 Ý 12 082 612.31072 Ý

 

8. Type <DELH> and press <F10> or <F11> (OCLC send keys).

The text "HELD BY MYG" on the above OCLC record will change to "NO HOLDINGS IN MYG" once the send key is pressed, and the record will be deleted from the Barton database on the following day.

top


Deleting a full bibliographic record with a copyset

1. Display the record in HLDM.

Example

Online Catalogue - BRIEF DISPLAY (1 of 1 titles) Local Control # :10293005 TITLE :The Journal of navigation. OCLC NO. :(OCoLC)01783951 CONTINUES :Institute of Navigation (Great Britain). Journal of the Institute of Navigation PUBLISHED :London, Royal Institute of Navigation. PHYSICAL DESC :v. ill. 25 cm. Use the ALL option for information about all items. Use the Item# option for information about specific item(s). LIBRARY COLLECTION CALL NUMBER -------------- ----------------------------- ------------------- 1. BARKER JOURNAL No call # Library Has: v.25:no.1 (1972)-v.44:no.3 (1991),v.45:no.2 (1992:May)- Last rec'd: v.51 no.1 / JAN 1998 03/09/98 Last Page Options: Enter items (e.g. 1 or 1,2 or 1,2,4 or 1-4 or 1,3-4 etc.) All # item(s) Retrieve Full display Prior screen Extend search Output MARC Order display Review search OPAC parms New search Reset Card print ? help

 

2. <Retrieve> <Enter> and the following screen appears:

Example

HLDM - COPY SET SUMMARY DISPLAY aahnie LCN : 10293005 CALL #: ISSN: 0373-4633 TITLE : Journal of navigation IMPRINT : London, Royal Institute of Navigation. LCCN: 72623691 //r8 INST LIBRARY COLLECTION/CALL NUMBER COPY # RTE STATUS 1 MIT BARKER JOURNAL/No call # N Active Options: Enter specified line number Forward Backward # line Add item Prior screen Link pieces Sequence holdings MARC ? help Exit

 

3. Choose <# line> 1 <Enter> and the following screen appears:

Example

HLDM - COPY SET EDIT aahnie LCN : 10293005 CALL #: ISSN: 0373-4633 TITLE : Journal of navigation IMPRINT : London, Royal Institute of Navigation. LCCN: 72623691 //r8 1. INSTITUTION : MIT 9. CURRENT PO#: E09119/0001 2. BLDG/SUBLOC : BARKER 10. ACTUAL COST: 200.00 3. COLLECTION : JOURNAL 11. VENDOR CODE: BLACKWEL-S 4. CALL# PREFIX: 12. SHIP TO : BAR 5. CALL NUMBER : No call # 13. CLM CODE : DFLT 6. COPY NUMBER : 14. ROUTING ID : 7. CALL# SUFFIX: 15. DELVRY DATE: 07/18/97 8. STATUS : ACTIVE - Y 16. NOTES : Racks; Bind 2 yrs tog. [ ] Options: Enter specified line number Line by line # line Routing list Summary holdings Binding list File Delete COPY SET ? help Exit

 

4. <Delete COPY SET> <Enter>

5. The message "Marking COPY SET and associated HOLDINGS for deletion - Okay to continue?" appears.

6. Type <Y>, and the message "Please enter password:" appears.

7. Type the password for deleting a copyset and <Enter>. A message confirming that the copyset has been "marked for deletion" will appear.

8. <Exit> the record, and keep your paper work for the following day.

9. The following day, display the record to verify that the copyset has been deleted. <Exit> the record.

10. Follow steps 2-4 above to <Delete all> items.

NOTE: Now that the copyset and all items have been deleted, you need to delete the bibliographic record from OCLC via the <DELH> command, which in turn will delete the full bibliographic record in Barton the following day.

top11. Follow steps 7-8 in previous section to delete the record in OCLC.