January 2018
When directing someone to a database in Vera use the GetURL, not the URL that the GetURL resolves to. For instance, for IEEE Xplore use this link https://libguides.mit.edu/ieee and not this http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp The GetURL will never change and will always take you to the resource. The resolved link could change, and if users are saving or bookmarking links you share with them, they should be GetURLs.
Unfortunately, GetURLs are only for databases. If you are looking for a permalink for journals (e or print) use the permalink at the top of the Barton record. There are permalinks in BorrowDirect, too.
And you can always choose to walk users through getting to these things instead of sharing links.
And along the same lines, it’s best to use the shortcut links for things that authenticate (MIT only) like the Suggested Purchase form. Use this link libraries.mit.edu/suggest-purchase from the shortcut link page instead of the link from the libraries’ menu so users don’t run into any authentication issues.
Resource Highlight---I read a transcript about this and learned something new, so maybe you will, too. The E-reading FAQ has information about accessing audio books from user’s devices. I didn’t know about this! And there’s the Ebsco Audiobook collection in Vera https://libguides.mit.edu/ebsco-eaudio
June 2017
I have seen an increase in the waiting times and number of missed chats recently so I just want to remind everyone to be present during your chat shift and turn your volume up!
There is no rule about working from home, but if you do, you need to make sure that your technology infrastructure is robust enough to have an uninterrupted internet connection so that your chat shift is uninterrupted.
Don’t forget the great news about Borrow Direct renewal. Now users will get one automatic renewal on all BD loans. Read more here: http://libraries.mit.edu/news/borrow-direct-offers/25341/
Did you miss the big news about MFA? Free access to MIT Students has been extended to Faculty and Staff. No more MFA cards, either! See more here: https://libraries.mit.edu/news/faculty-staff/26022/
July 2015
We have new documentation about using the upgraded LibChat platform! Need to transfer a chat to another chat team member? Check out the documentation. (Scroll down to “chat features”)
Sending users URLs of resources or services? Don’t forget to use the getURLs from Vera and the MIT Libraries’ shortcut URLs.
Ever have a user ask about non-research materials? MIT Libraries has a large literature and fiction collection for research and pleasure reading, manga, detective fiction, movie dvds (2nd Floor of Hayden or use the advance search in Barton for DVD format and do a title search), music CDs (in Lewis Music Library), travel books (Limit to travel collection in the advanced search in Barton) and even cooking materials.
Not sure about our equipment? Check out this page that details specific options and locations.
August 2015
Bookmark the Chat Guide and the Libapps dashboard.
Bookmak the MIT Libraries Shortcut URL page while you are at it! It is best practice to provide these shorter and straightforward links via chat (and other communication, too).
There are permalinks in WorldCat at the top right of each record. Use these permalinks (http://mit.worldcat.org/oclc/843058300) and opposed to the longer URL (http://mit.worldcat.org/title/communication-technologies-for-vehicles-5th-international-workshop-nets4carsnets4trains-2013-villeneuve-dascq-france-may-14-15-2013-proceedings/oclc/843058300&referer=brief_results)
No shortcut URL or permalink? Use the Google URL shortener!
I added a new privacy policy section to the Policy Tab on the Chat Guide. Scroll down to the Privacy section at the bottom. The gist: we don’t give out patron information (loans, holds, fines, etc) over chat. Have them use Your Account.
Don’t forget, there is a new button and procedure for transferring chats. You can view the screen shots on the Using LibChat tab of the Chat Guide. Scroll down to the Chat Features box and it is the last paragraph.
When you start a chat, look up the user’s name/kerberos in the MIT directory so you can anticipate any access issues.
Use the Patron Privileges page on the PS Docs to determine privileges by patron type.
If you don’t want to display both your first & last name when chatting with users, email web-lib@mit.edu, and request that they change the settings to display only your first name.
September 2015
I don’t know about you, but my chat shift today was slammed. They are back! Here are a few tips to help you with the uptick in chat.
If folks are asking about “e-control” errors or claiming that they used to have access to any of these resources, but suddenly don’t, feel free to refer these to Ask Us through the quick referral form.
If you are curious about e-control errors and how Ask Us handles these, check the Ask Us wiki entry here: https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/vFUHAw
I had 3 questions about returning items but still being fined, etc…Please refer these folks to the proper prompt (depending on situation) found on the Fines & damaged materials tab on the Circulation FAQ. They may ask you to double-check their account for them, but you can refer them to Your Account and explain that we don’t do that because of privacy reasons.
Also, as we start of the new semester, don’t be shy about showing students subject based research guides & experts or encouraging them to contact their librarian for more help.
October 9th
I am still seeing lots of opportunities to use the shortcut URLs. For instance, did you know we have separate shortcut URL for sub collections in Barton?
Also, don’t forget about these popular referral options:
Refer to Circulation Resources: Questions about fines, mistaken in Your Account loans, lost or missing book? Please refer these folks to the proper prompt (depending on situation) found on the Fines & damaged materials tab on the Circulation FAQ. They may ask you to double-check their account for them, but you can refer them to Your Account and explain that we don’t do that because of privacy reasons.
Refer to their ILLiad Account:
Questions about a request they submitted or when the item will arrive? Please refer these folks to their Illiad account (through touchstone) and direct them to the active requests table. Also, you can answer questions about our Illiad service by using or direct users to the ILLiad FAQ
Refer to Visitor Resources:
Often times we are contacted by non-MIT researchers in the area, high school students, researchers traveling through Boston about visiting the library, using public computers and resource Be sure to refer them to the Visitors Page, which has a wealth of information depending on the specific situation. For instance, did you know that many of our electronic resources are available through are public computers?
And just for variety, here are some other tips:
Students looking for theses not published by MIT? Check out the various tabs on the Thesis Resource Guide for finding theses.
October 30th
This edition of chat tips is brought to you from the trenches….
“Do you have any MFA passes?“
Lots of folks ask for the MFA passes, and this will increase around the upcoming holiday season when MIT community members have family visiting. There is an MFA pass record in Barton
http://library.mit.edu/item/001959626
We have 14 passes and the limit is2 passes per person. Each pass admits 1 person. First come first served at the Hayden desk. They are loaned for 3 days. So they can check the Barton record and if any are available they should head over to Hayden quickly.
You can get to this record by keyword searching Barton for Museum of Fine Arts pass or MFA pass…and I am sure a variety of other ways.
PS. We don't offer passes to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, but it's free to get in with an MIT ID.
“I returned a book but it is still on my account! Help?”
TWO PROCEDURES. You can teach them how to access the information on the Circ FAQ on their own. Borrow & Request header on MIT Libraries homepageà Circ FAQ à Fines & Damaged Materials Tab à prompt for “I have loans on my account that I already returned or never checked out. What do I do?
Here’s the text after the prompt:
Fill out the fine appeal form or email circulation@mit.edu. Please provide specific information about when and where the item(s) was returned. The item(s) will be searched by staff, but will remain on your account during the search process.
Staff will check the shelves and staff processing areas of the owning library, as well as the other MIT Libraries. If the claimed returned item is not found in the first search, a secondary search will be repeated a month later. Staff will contact you when the book is located or the search period has elapsed to notify you of the results.
OR you can submit a Quick Referral form on their behalf and Ask Central will transfer it to Circ RT.
Just use your judgment on what the user would prefer.
“I have important books from my collection I would like to give to the library…”
Send them here: http://libraries.mit.edu/giving/ and for specific materials (like books and print journals) I would send them here: http://libraries.mit.edu/giving/opportunities/materials/
It’s a little clunky, but I got there from About us Menu Header on the MIT Libraries homepage à Giving to the MIT Librariesà Collections & Special Collection on the Giving Opportunity menuà Also See: Gifts of Materials link.
“I can’t get into JSTOR!”
When someone mentions JSTOR to me, I automatically go get the GetURL (https://libguides.mit.edu/jstor) from Vera and have the user start from there. Usually the GetURL solves the problem. The note in Vera says, “Requires MIT Touchstone authentication. As of January 10, 2011, to access JSTOR you must use the get URL or come through Vera.” If they are still having trouble, they usually report back that they are seeing the e-control error message (which means they don’t have the proper status to access JSTOR). In that case, can submit a Quick Referral form on their behalf and Ask Central will handle it.
If you want more info on this, read here: https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/vFUHAw
December 17th, 2015
There is a lovely news post about avoiding the recall pitfalls this time of year. I had 2 or 3 questions about this exact issue yesterday on chat yesterday. I encourage all of you to read the news blog post and review the information on the Circulation FAQ . And here’s the navigation for you: Libraries homepage—> Request & Borrow header menu—> Circulation FAQ is on the left side of the 2 column drop down menu.
January 2016
Here’s a great tip! At the start of your shift open these three tabs in your browser:
*fun reading when your chat shift is slow J
Resource spotlight: Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE) papers
ONLINE: We have online access to technical papers from 1998 to present and a comprehensive index of all SAE papers going back to 1906. https://libguides.mit.edu/sae
PRINT: Anything prior to 1998 we should have in the Libraries. The records are a little messy so use the quick referral form and it will get to an engineering librarian that is more familiar with the title.
If you want to take the extra step to try to find an SAE papers prior to 1998, use the SAE resource guide.
Speaking of these types of publications (tech reports and papers), don’t forget about the Technical Reports guide. It has a wealth of information for both you and the user!
Not sure about the changes coming to our BLC membership? You have various information touch points! Don’t be scared!
Ever get questions about Financial Times access?
The answer is in Quick Answers! Remember, if a question is Dewey related, check the Quick Answers. Here’s the answer I found in Quick Answers:
Q: Where can I find Financial Times?
Search Vera for the title
Current print issue- 1st floor of Dewey Library
About 3 months' worth of the most recent editions - basement of Dewey Library
Did you know? The Libraries have a service where we will scan an MIT thesis for anyone who requests it. Those not affiliated with the Institute are charged a fee, while current MIT faculty, students, and staff are not charged. All a patron needs to do is simply fill out our online order form: https://libraries.mit.edu/docs/app/orders/thesis
Document Services receives these requests and verifies whether or not the patron is affiliated with MIT. If the thesis isn’t on DSpace, we’ll request the archival copy, scan it, and send a PDF to the patron. This can take up to 2-3 weeks since all theses are stored off-site. Please note that if the thesis is on DSpace, we will not fill the request. We’ll simply direct the patron to the DSpace handle.
Also important to note is that Document Services fills requests for articles, MIT tech reports, and Library Borrowing Cards. You can find more information, and the order forms, here: https://libraries.mit.edu/docs/
February 5th 2016
Please make sure you turn your computer or laptop volume up when you are chatting so you hear the melodious chat ding.
Please update your IM contact list to include the new chatters, or any chat staff hat you haven’t added in the past. See the complete list of current chatters on the Ask Chat Guide.
As the new semester starts off, new students and staff come to campus. If a chat user mentions they are new to MIT, send them the welcome page. It is full of useful information for new library users and tips for aspiring power users.
Another issue that comes up at the beginning of the semester is the designated borrower form. The form is located on the public facing Circulation FAQ. Point users to the “Can someone else check out materials for me?” prompt in the first box on the Request & Borrow tab of the Circulation FAQ.
You might have noticed some weirdness in the dropdown menu of the canned messages button in the chat box. I noticed recently that the list repeated itself and that has since been fixed (Thanks GMAC). All the same canned messages are still there in the dropdown menu. Take a moment of the beginning of your next shift to familiarize yourself with the canned messages. They are listed on the Procedures & help tab on the Ask Chat Guide.
I also added a link to the Dewey Quick Answers page to the Documentation tab of the Ask Chat Guide.
March 4th, 2016
A tip about using BorrowDirect has been added to Your Account! The “spotlight” on the Your Account request page has been updated to simplify the text and encourage use of Borrow Direct over recalling an item that is currently on loan. Read more about it here:https://idlamit.wordpress.com/2016/02/19/borrow-direct-vs-recalls/
Did you know that MIT Libraries provides financial support for publishing in open access journals? Check it out here: http://libraries.mit.edu/scholarly/mit-open-access/open-access-at-mit/mit-open-access-publishing-fund/
Ever get a somewhat vague or general question about venture capital or market research… just business? Point them to the Business research guide and offer a quick referral or send them the research consultation form to get them in touch with an expert librarian!
Need an item that is on reserve at MIT Libraries? Try to get it through BorrowDirect. Keep in mind that reserve items are usually textbooks and often unavailable at the BorrowDirect schools. Unfortunately, we can’t get these reserve items through ILB/Illiad because we don’t ILB items we already have, even if they are on reserve. Complicated!!! Questions? Stay tuned for more documentation coming soon.
Lastly, here’s an oldie but a goodie: Don’t forget the Shortcut URL page for a quick way to send links to our services and resources! Bookmark it today! http://libraries.mit.edu/about/shortcuts/
April 1, 2016
If chat users say they “can’t get into a database” or something similar, check Vera first to see if there are any notes about access (like the database only works with VPN, or only in IE browser). Plus, by checking Vera you can quickly grab the GetURL to send them so they can double check they are getting access through the Libraries.
Speaking of URLs, it’s always best to use short, static, or friendly URLs as opposed to long non static URLs. Here are some examples: Use the Barton permalink located at the top of each record instead of the browser URL. Use this link http://library.mit.edu/item/002387148 instead of this link http://library.mit.edu/F/LTJ2NVR39G91L46XEQSQ2UJ32LK7LJ7NTJ3PJS4SR4X9XBF2BF-05283?func=find-acc&acc_sequence=033040830
Use the WorldCat permalink located in the menu bar on the right of each record instead of the browser URL. Use this link http://mit.worldcat.org/oclc/889726555 instead of this link https://mit.worldcat.org/title/girl-with-all-the-gifts/oclc/889726555&referer=brief_results
Don’t forget about links from the Shortcut URLs page.
A few notes about the calendar:
April 29th, 2016
If there’s time, be sure to explain to users how you are finding something/getting access/helping them or etc. We want to teach them how to fish, not just feed them, ya know?
We have been getting several request for information about MIT admissions and visiting MIT from non-MIT folks. Here are some quick links to keep in mind:
These folks don’t likely differentiate the MIT Libraries from other offices on campus so sending a link to point them in the right direction is a quick and easy courtesy we can provide.
New information about inserting the proxy string has been updated on the Connect to on and off campus page and was sent out in an email from Darcy (attached). Keep this in mind when users report access issues through Chat. It is also best to direct the user to our resources through Barton or Vera. Be sure to check access yourself, too. If you have done this, and the user is still reporting access issues, feel free to use the quick referral form and Ask Central will triage it.
Just a reminder, some resources require using our GetURLs even when the user is VPNing. These resources have a note in their Vera record that states: “VPN users: You must use Vera or Barton to access this resource."
May 27th, 2016
Graduation and library privileges---Library privileges end for students on the day they graduate. Graduating students should return all books by commencement day. Remember, they can use Your Account to check their library account. Recent graduates may ask about privileges after they graduate—you can send them to the Alumni Access page: http://libguides.mit.edu/alum Many will ask about fines, so here’s the quick link to the fines appeal form: http://libraries.mit.edu/forms/fine-appeal.html Use the Circulation FAQ to guide you (and the user) and you can always refer.
Thesis time---we get a lot of questions about theses this time of year. Point users to http://libraries.mit.edu/archives/thesis-specs/index.html and this guide http://libguides.mit.edu/mit-thesis-faq. If the question they are asking about their thesis isn’t addressed in those two guides, they really need to contact their department for specific requirements. Another thing people ask is about using figures. You can point them to this guide http://libguides.mit.edu/usingimages. If they need more help use the quick referral form and we will get them in touch with Ellen’s team.
Another situations that comes up at the end of a semester is faculty admin assistants emailing about issues with books they have borrowed for their professors. Do your best to sort out their issues, point them to the Circualtions FAQ and the fines appeal, but don’t forget to mention the designated borrower form to them so they can avoid the situation in the future. From the Circulation FAQ Request & Borrow Tab.
Can someone else check out materials for me?
With two exceptions, only you can use your library card to check out library materials. Exceptions to the rule are professors and students/staff with long term disability or illness.
If you are a professor, you may give permission to someone else to check out materials on your behalf. Use our Designated Borrowerform to request permission. Please note, a designated borrower account does not allow the designee to access Your Account or ILLiad.
If you are a student and have a long term disability that requires this service, please contact Student Support Services. Staff should contactMIT Human Resources. Both departments will assist you in obtaining this privilege from the Libraries.
June 29th, 2016
Is someone asking about video conferencing? We have that! Check out this page: https://libraries.mit.edu/barker/media-room/
Harvard Business Cases—we can get them! Interlibrary Borrowing will obtain Harvard Business School cases upon request. The user will receive it as a PDF. The exception is if the case is noted at as “teaching note” and those can’t be ILB-ed.
Capital IQ accounts are only granted to Sloan students. During summer Capital IQ suspends all student accounts. Access for returning students will resume iSeptember, due to the contractual requirements of the company. Any MIT community member can access Capital IQ from two designated work stations at Dewey year round. They just have to visit the library and have a valid Athena log-in.
Speaking of Summer, check out this IDLA blog post on Summer programs https://idlamit.wordpress.com/2016/06/21/mit-summer-programs-2/ Here is the privileges page in PS docs that lists “MIT summer programs”: https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/ewaNAg
And another great IDLA blog post on expanded office delivery is available here: https://libraries.mit.edu/news/office-delivery/22444/
August 5th, 2016
September 9th, 2016
Did you review the training summary? No time like the present, even if you attended!
Important! New! Please use mit.edu emails when filling out the Quick Referral form. Using the mit email grabs important information like full name, status, etc for Ask Us staff to use when triaging the question. If the user prefers another email (like a gmail address) you can add it in the body of the quick referral form and Ask Us staff will add the email as an additional ticket recipient.
News about the Scan & Deliver service is out. Bottom line—we can scan stuff from our general circulating collections on campus and send PDFs to patrons. For details see the PS docs grid here: https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/5igEBw More info here: http://libraries.mit.edu/news/introducing/22837/
Office Delivery (different from the Scan & Deliver service) has been expanded! Bottom line -- now faculty and academic research staff can get books delivered to their campus office. More info here: http://libraries.mit.edu/news/office-delivery/22444/
Triaging access issues! New and returning users get hung up on access! Here’s a quick list to things you could try with them, but feel free to use the Quick Referral form, too.
If none of these things work—use the quick referral form.
Reserve Items Reminder
Items on reserve can be checked out for 2 hours and renewed 3 times as long as no one else is in line for the reserve item. If an item is checked out or on reserve, you can try Borrow Direct. You can’t try Illaid cause we don’t ILB items we own.
Springer MyCopy—sometimes even the rare questions come to chat. Tuck this in the back of your brain for later!
Springer offers “MyCopy”, a service where the members of the MIT community can order their own personal copy of the books for a discounted price of $24.99 for books up to 800 pages. MyCopy is only available for books that MIT Libraries has access to. If you are looking at a Springer book that MIT has access to, you’ll see a link on the right to buy the book.
September 30th, 2016
Reminder: don’t share information about loans, or etc to users over Chat because we really can’t tell who we are talking to. Instead, point them to websites where they can help themselves, like the ILB dashboard (from the MIT Libraries Homepageà Borrow & Requestà click Illiad) or Your Account (from the MIT Libraries à click Account with the head icon on the top right).
Expanded Harvard Libraries privileges now available. Bottom line- MIT community members can visit more Harvard Libraries. More info here: http://libraries.mit.edu/news/expanded-harvard/22890/
Here’s a questions I recently had on chat about this: Q: How long does the application take? I need to go there today! A: If your application is successful (i.e. no spelling errors in the submission, your library account is in good standing and you are a current, qualifying member of the MIT community), a PDF of your approved form will be emailed to you within an hour.
Returned a book but just got overdue fine? Send them to the Fines & damaged material tab of the Circulation FAQ. There is a prompt about this with a link to the fines appeal form.
Have a book listed as “on order” or “received/ask for assistance” and not sure what to do? We have procedures for that in PS Docs.
Received/Ask for Assistance https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/IY54Aw
Don’t’ forget about the lovely business resource table that Shikha made for the Chat Guide. You can use this to get a user started, even if you do a quick referral.
Getting Coverage Suggestion—Be sure to spread the love when taking others up on their offer to cover for you. I know it is tempting to take the first person that responds when their response is almost immediate, but maybe a wait a bit to spread the coverage love and give others a change to offer.
Sick coverage procedures are a bit different than regular coverage procedures because of the circumstances. If you see a call for coverage from someone that is sick and you can take it, be sure to reply all so everyone knows that it is taken care of. And change the calendar, too. If you are sick and requesting coverage, just send an email and that’s it. No need to follow up or check email to make sure that it is taken care of.
January 20th, 2017
New Best Practice from the Reference Team!
If a new chat is initiated close to the end of the chat business day (6PM) try to help the user as best you can. If the chat transaction continues past 6:05, refer the user via the Quick Referral form. It might be something a desk could handle, too. Use your judgement on which would be effective for the user. There is a new canned message labeled “Closing time” you can use. It says: Sorry I wasn’t able to answer your question. Your question requires more time. We will refer you to our Ask Us email service. Someone will be in touch with you in the next business day. *
*use this when you have used the Quick Referral form. This info has been added to the Chat Guide here: http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176380&p=1160411
Sharing Info
Another reminder about sharing information! Please don’t share info about loans, requests, account settings, or privileges over chat. It may seem silly, but it’s not a best practice. Instead, point them to websites where they can help themselves, like the ILB dashboard (from the MIT Libraries Homepageà Borrow & Requestà click Illiad or Your Account (from the MIT Libraries à click Account icon on the top right. If these resources can’t help them you can have them email circulation@mit.edu
Referrals
When referring a user to a subject expert, it is best to use the Quick Referral form so Ask Us can triage it. It is fine to provide the contact info for the subject expert when you can identify them, but you also need to use the Quick Referral form. You may not be aware of a scheduled or unscheduled absence—Maybe the subject expert left early or isn’t available. The Quick Referral form will ensure that the user gets a response.
Dissertation info
For theses in the Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) database, if we don’t have the full text and it is for sale through Proquest, ILB can’t borrow it for users. ILB can only borrow print theses, and only if they aren't on Proquest and if the lending library actually loans the hard copy of their theses. Theses are complicated!
February 16, 2017
March 3rd, 2017
1. Please respond to the Chat Meeting invite in April—I need to know if I should have a second date/time option. Thanks to those of you that already have responded.
2. Receive/Ask for Assistance status in Barton: this means the book has been received by MIT Libraries but is in processing. Users can push the process along by going to the Circ FAQ . Borrow & Request header on MIT Libraries homepageà Circ FAQ àRequest & Borrow Tab à prompt for “How can I get something that is "on order" or "received/ask for assistance?"
Here’s the text after the prompt:
Please contact a library service desk.
OR you can submit a Quick Referral form on their behalf and Ask Central will transfer it to Circ RT.
And if you want to go above and beyond, you could follow these instructions on PS Docs: https://wikis.mit.edu/confluence/x/IY54Aw
3. Users can go to the Illiad dashboard to see the status of their request. Use the shortcut URL here: libraries.mit.edu/ilb and then they need to click on the Illiad link at the top. Not sure what the status means, check the glossary (linked on the bottom left side of the dashboard)
April 14th, 2017
Looking for an answer and using the Libraries website “site search”? Beware of news blog that are very out of date, the information may have changed recently!
MFA PASSES! If you search Barton by keyword MFA pass you will get to the record. It’s the second result, but it’s quick. The details are on the ask chat tips page: http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176380&p=2395253 Do a control F to find the details.
Please use the permalink provided at the top of the Barton record instead of the URL.
May 2017
Doing a Quick Referral? Did you get all the information you possibly could? Do they have a timeline? Is this for a class? Are they looking for research about an engineering thing or are they interested in the business details of that engineering thing? If they can’t get an article, did you check our holdings? Did you get a complete citation? Try to get as much information as you can so the quick referral is packed with info.
Did you see Tina’s email about Thesis stuff? Lots of timely information. I bet you will have a chat about this between now and the end of the semester.
·Refer to Specifications for Thesis Preparation for questions about this topic.
·Q: Where do I get the cardboard covers and clips required for thesis submission? A: Recycled temporary covers and clips are available in a cabinet in the first floor stairwell of Hayden Library, near the circulation desk. See hours. From MIT Thesis FAQ: Student Frequently Asked Questions.
· MIT Thesis FAQ: Student Frequently Asked Questions also has tabs for Access and Availability Questions, and Add Your Thesis to DSpace@MIT.
·The dissertations and theses research guide has a tab for How to write a dissertation/thesis.
Borrow Direct? Illiad? “We have e-only and I want print! It’s checked out but I need it!” Be sure to determine exactly what they are referring to. Some users say ILB but they mean something else. Don’t forget about the workflow chart. And this nice helpful statement brought to you by Allyson Harper-Nixon:
Remember, Borrow Direct can be used to request items that we don’t own; items that we own but are not available, including reserves; and print editions of books we have only in electronic format.
May 26th 2017
Consider getting coverage for chat shifts that overlap with meetings--Chat during meetings? It’s an option, sometimes unavoidable (ACE and All Staff meetings), but I want to remind folks that meetings big or small are a great and appropriate reason to request coverage for a chat shifts. Use your judgment of course, but if you feel you will be distracted (or distracting to other meeting attendants) and not able to give the best service on chat, I strongly encourage you to get coverage. If you have questions about this, please get in touch with me.
Graduation and library privileges---Library privileges end for students on the day they graduate. Graduating students should return all books by commencement day. Remember, they can use Your Account to check their library account. Sometimes students finish their work earlier than graduation. Circulation staff are notified of these cases and manually update their aleph records. Students who have items on loan less than 60 days from their early graduation day are sent an email from the circulation staff with instructions about their loans and links to our alumni services. Otherwise, graduating students should return all books by commencement day. Recent graduates may ask about privileges after they graduate—you can send them to the Alumni Access page. Many will ask about fines, so here’s the quick link to the fines appeal form.
Alumni access? Separately, the MIT Alumni Office offers access to JSTOR, a collection of scholarly journals in many fields with deep historical coverage, although current years are excluded; EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition, a multi-disciplinary full-text database; and EBSCO Business Source Alumni Edition, a scholarly business database. To access any of these online resources, go here (Infinite Connection login required).