Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Building Technology: Open Art and Architecture Ebooks & Journals

Open Scholarly Online Journals for Fine Arts and Performing Arts

British Art Studies: New peer-reviewed scholarship on all aspects of British art, architecture, and visual culture. Co-published by the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art, London, and the Yale Center for British Art, New Haven. Scope from 2015 to present. 

InVisible Culture: Student run interdisciplinary journal published online twice a year that explores changing global themes in visual culture. Double blind peer reviewed articles, creative works, and reviews of books, films, and exhibitions.

Italian Modern Art: This online journal  promotes the advancement of new scholarship in the field of twentieth-century Italian art. Scope from January 2019 to present.

Journal of Art Historiography: This publication supports and promotes the study of the history and practice of art historical writing. Scope from 2019 and published twice a year. 

Marges (Revue d'art contemporain): This journal seeks to compare analysis from all approaches (including those interdisciplinary ones) to contemporary creation and thought including plastic arts, anesthetics, art history, art philosophy, etc. Issues run from 2003 to present.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide: This scholarly digital journal is dedicated to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts from all over the world. The chronological scope of the journal is the “long” nineteenth century, stretching from the American and French Revolutions, at one end, to the outbreak of World War I, at the other. Published from Spring 2002 to present. 

Nonsite.org: This peer-reviewed quarterly journal presents scholarship in the humanities, plus poetry, editorials, reviews, visual art and more and features “the Tank” which is a forum for comment on provocative new scholarly work. The journal is described as exploring and criticizing "the various theoretical forms of neoliberalism—from the postmodern to the posthuman, from the new historicism to the new pluralism—that have become so pervasive that they are nearly invisible. Nonsite.org seeks first to make them visible and then to make them less pervasive." Issues span from Spring 2011 to present. 

Panorama: A peer-reviewed publication supports original research and scholarship that covers American art and visual culture and sustains engagement with intellectual developments and methodological debates in art history, visual and material cultural studies, and curatorial work. Issues from Winter 2015 and published twice a year.  

Tout-Fait: Started in 1999, this is the first academic journal in electronic format devoted to Marcel Duchamp (1887-1968) and his peers. 

Architecture Online Journals Resources

Hemispheric Digital Video Library: A partnered project with NYU Libraries the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this trilingual (English, Spanish and Portuguese) repository provides historical preservation and free, online access to almost 900 hours of video with detailed production information, synopses, image galleries, texts, interviews, bibliographies and additional materials spanning the 1970s to present.

Heritage Preservation (World Monuments Fund):  This site provides access Watch and Monumentum magazines both on heritage preservation issues. 

Historic American Buildings Survey, etc.: This collections contains a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes and is the largest and most heavily used collection in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Collections included are the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections.    

Structurae: Database for works of structural and civil engineering and many other works including images of interest in the fields of architecture and public works. 

Fine arts and Performing Arts Ebooks

Art Book Magazine: Free books in French available after downloading the app.

Books Online (Smithsonian)

Canadian Online Art Book Project: Founded in 2013, the Canadian Online Art. Book Project is a growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books: This directory aims to increase discoverability of open access books. There are over  over 1,000 arts and architecture books. 

E-Artexte (contemporary art)

Internet Archive Open Library

OAPEN: Arts titles

Sketchbook Project (Brooklyn Art Library)

Smithsonian: Books Online

Museum Publications

Art Institute of Chicago

British Museum Publications

Detroit Institute of Art - exhib. cats.

Getty Publications (backlist)

Getty Research Portal: Free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog provides the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.

Guggenheim Museum publications: Guggenheim Museum publications provided by the Internet Archive.

Fundacion Juan March (Madrid): Complete content for catalogues accompanying the exhibitions held at its three venues since 1973, in Madrid, Cuenca (the Museo de Arte Abstracto Español) and Palma de Mallorca (the Museu Fundació Juan March).

Heritage Preservation titles (World Monuments Fund)

LACMA Publications: Select archive.org under Availability for digital publications

Latsis Foundation: Publications of cultural, artistic and historical interest to researchers in Greek art and archaeology.

MetPublications

MoMA (NYC) exhibitions

National Gallery (DC) - backlist

National Gallery of Art Publications

OSCI Museum Catalogues: The Getty’s Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative provides access to catalogues from the Art Institute of Chicago; Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution; Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA); National Gallery of Art (NGA); San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA); Seattle Art Museum; Tate; Walker Art Center; and the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

Smithsonian Books Online

Walker Art Center: Side by Side: Collaborative Artistic Practice in the United States, 1960s–1980s. Volume III of the Walker's digital publication, the Living Collections Catalogue contains media-rich, scholarly essays on contemporary art themes and works in the Walker's collection. There’s more information in the colophon here

Wildenstein Plattner Institute (publications)