Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Libraries collaborated with MIT gravitational wave researcher Scott Hughes to create this guide, and also consulted with scientists from the MIT LIGO group.
Other LIGO & gravitational wave resources
- LIGO has its own rich database of papers, including technical reports and research articles, and many are publicly accessible. Search by author, keyword, or topic.
- LIGO’s database also includes companion papers related to the initial detection article that was published in the American Physical Society’s journal Physical Review Letters. Many of these articles will appear in DSpace@MIT after they’ve been accepted for publication.
Institute Archives and Special Collections
MIT's Institute Archives and Special Collections houses Professor Rainer Weiss’s papers: “Rainer Weiss Papers, MC 517.” Ask the Archives for access.
In the media
There were thousands of news articles after the detection event. A few notable ones that featured interviews with MIT researchers:
- Gravitational Waves Detected, Confirming Einstein’s Theory, New York Times, Feb. 11, 2016.
- What Gravitational Waves Sound Like, on the Atlantic website, Feb. 11, 2016. The article is co-written by MIT physicist Allan Adams and includes an audio interview with MIT physicist Scott Hughes.
- Gravitational Waves Exist: The Inside Story of How Scientists Finally Found Them, on the New Yorker website, Feb. 11, 2016.
- The dividends of investing in science, an editorial in the Boston Globe by MIT President Rafael Reif, Feb. 12, 2016.
- The Team that Found Gravitational Waves, on WBUR’s On Point with Tom Ashbrook, Feb. 15, 2016. Guests include MIT LIGO’s Rainer Weiss and Nergis Mavalvala.
- What the discovery of gravitational waves means, a TED talk by MIT physicist Allan Adams, February 2016.
- Music of the Spheres, on the London Review of Books blog, by MIT physicist Scott Hughes, February 23, 2016.