Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Massaschusetts Institute of Technology logo Search Account

21H.282: MIT and Slavery: Publication: MIT Sources

MIT Sources Online

MIT History web site https://libraries.mit.edu/mithistory/
Information about MIT History, linked from the Distinctive Collections web site.

MIT Reports to the President (T171.M195): 1871 to 2002 and 1994 to the present
The publication Reports to the President is a compilation of the annual reports of academic and administrative units of the Institute summarizing the year’s accomplishments and introducing future plans. Included in some years are reports from the secretary, treasurer, and chancellor of the Institute. Collectively, the volumes represent the starting point for any research into the history of the Institute.

MIT Course Catalogues (T171.M42): 1865 to 1997 and 1998 to the present
The MIT Course Catalogue, also referred to as the MIT Bulletin and the MIT Course Catalog, is a rich source of information on the courses and programs that have made the Massachusetts Institute of Technology the major institution it is today. 

The Tech (T171.M45): 1881 to present
The MIT student newspaper.

Technique (T171.M4257): 1885-1930
MIT's yearbook.

MIT Handbooks (T171.M42.S678, T171.M42.T4 and T171.M42h.H847): 1913-2008
The MIT Handbooks consist of books with general information about the Massachusetts Institute of Technology campus, local culture and social activities, and academics. The publications have various names and creators, The Handbook of the Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyThe Social BeaverThis is MITMIT TodayHow to Get Around MIT (HowToGAMIT) but generally provide similar information on how to navigate life in and around MIT.

MIT Black History The MIT Black History Project began in 1995 with the goal of documenting the role of Black life at MIT since the Institute’s founding in 1861.

MIT Sources for Use in Reading Room

The MIT Libraries' catalog, Barton, will list the shelf location as "Institute Archives - Reference Collection" if an item is shelved in the reading room (14N-118). Advance notice is not required to use materials shelved in the reading room.

All other materials need to be requested at least two business days in advance of a visit so that they can be retrieved from off-site storage. Use our online form, Ask Distinctive Collections, to request material. Depending on the items, please provide the following information:

  • MIT publications: ​call number, title, and date (if applicable)
  • MIT theses: thesis author, date, department, and degree,
  • Archival (AC or MC) collections: collection name, collection number, and the box number(s),
  • Rare books: call number and collection name (e.g., Legacy, Vail, Rogers, etc.)

MIT Libraries Resource Guides

Journals and Databases licensed by MIT are available to members of the community using Touchstone authentication, or to anyone using public computers in the MIT Libraries' public locations.

Biography

Historic Newspapers 

History Subject Guide

MIT Buildings

MIT People