Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The article databases listed below are the most comprehensive, although since they do not contain the full-text, you will have to click on an "SFX" button to link to another source or look up the article citation in Vera or Barton. Likewise, they are searching descriptions of the articles, not the full-text of the articles, so err on the side of keeping your searches somewhat broader than you would in a full-text database.
Search Tips for MLA:
- Click "Search"
- Type the name of the writer you're researching into the "Author as Subject" box
- Type the name of the work you're researching into the "Author's Work" box
Search Tips for ABELL:
- Click "Search"
- Type the name of the writer you're researching into the "Subject" box, last name first.
MLA International Bibliography
One of the primary sources of scholarly research in field of literature (also includes some references in film, theatre, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (part of LION)
A database within LION (Literature Online), ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature - contains over 500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Scholarly Articles with Full-Text
Because the databases listed below can search the entire text of the articles they contain, you can be very specific in your searches and type multipe keywords if you wish. However, keep in mind they are not comprehensive - searching the databases listed above will probably turn up many more article citations.
- Try the name of the author, the work, and your topic words in the search box, separated by the word "and"
- For example, shakespeare AND othello AND race AND discourse
Full-text, online access to scholarly journals in many fields, not just literature (although most recent years are usually excluded). Because it can search the entire text of the articles, you can be very specific in your searches and type multiple keywords if you wish. Also includes some e-books.
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually only recent issues). Also includes some e-books.
Literature, Global Studies and Languages, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.