Search
Account
Search
Account
Search article title, author, or keywords. MIT Libraries full text holdings are linked in right column of Google Scholar results
-> To get the full text of articles not in our collection, request through Interlibrary Borrowing or Search our Collections
MIT Libraries catalog
Adopting a UDL attitude within academia : understanding and practicing inclusion across higher education by 
Leadership in Turbulent Times by
Social movements and events such as the Black Lives Matter and Stop Asian Hate, the Supreme Court's ruling against the legality of employment discrimination against the LGBT population, and the growing diversity of the workforce serve as impetus for more diverse and engaging work contexts. Racial diversity issues such as the paucity of educators of color in the field, workload disparity workload across teacher demographics, the handling of student discipline and employment discrimination need confronting to create more diverse and inclusive workspaces. The second of two volumes, Leadership in Turbulent Times draws upon cutting edge theories and evidence-based strategies by integrating conceptual and empirical work addressing educational leadership in these unprecedented and turbulent times, with a particular focus on cultivating diversity and inclusion in the higher education workplace. Moving theory and practice towards real change, Leadership in Turbulent Times is a timely contribution towards the goal of providing resources for promoting diversity and inclusion to leaders, educators, researchers and policymakers within the field of Education.
Race and Rurality by
This book offers context, research, policy, and practice-based recommendations centering college access and success for a historically overlooked population: rural Students and Communities of Color. Through an exploration of how colleges and universities can effectively welcome students from rural areas who identify as Asian and Pacific Islander, Black and African American, Hispanic and Latinx, and/or Indigenous, this text challenges the misleading narrative that rural is white, thereby placing these students and their communities in conversation with national higher education discourse. Rich contributions on scholarship, practice, and policy address the intersection of racism and spatial inequities and consider the unique opportunities and challenges that rural Students and Communities of Color face across the United States' higher education landscape. Chapters provide direction on creating equitable policies and practices, as well as details of the assets, resources, and networks that support this population's success. This edited collection provides a wealth of insight into the recruitment, access, persistence, and retention of rural Students of Color, equipping higher education researchers, practitioners, administrators, and policymakers with the knowledge they need to better account for and support rural students and communities across race and ethnicity.
Racial Equity on College Campuses by
The current socio-political moment--rife with racial tensions and overt bigotry--has exacerbated longstanding racial inequities in higher education. While educational scholars have developed conceptual tools and offered data-informed recommendations for rooting out racism in campus policies and practices, this work is largely inaccessible to the public. At the same time, practitioners and policymakers are increasingly called on to implement quick solutions to what are, in fact, profound, structural problems. Racial Equity on College Campuses bridges this gap, marshaling the expertise of nineteen scholars and practitioners to translate research-based findings into actionable recommendations in three key areas: university leadership, teaching and learning, and student and campus life. The strategies gathered here will prove useful to institutional actors engaged in both real-time and long-term decision-making across contexts--from the classroom to the boardroom.
Strategic Diversity Leadership by
In today's world - whether viewed through a lens of educational attainment, economic development, global competitiveness, leadership capacity, or social justice and equity - diversity is not just the right thing to do, it is the only thing to do! Following the era of civil rights in the 1960s and '70s, the 1990s and early 21st century have seen both retrenchment and backlash years, but also a growing recognition, particularly in business and the military, that we have to educate and develop the capacities of our citizens from all levels of society and all demographic and social groups to live fulfilling lives in an inter-connected globe. For higher education that means not only increasing the numbers of diverse students, faculty, and staff, but simultaneously pursuing excellence in student learning and development, as well as through research and scholarship - in other words pursuing what this book defines as strategic diversity leadership. The aim is to create systems that enable every student, faculty, and staff member to thrive and achieve to maximum potential within a diversity framework. This book is written from the perspective that diversity work is best approached as an intellectual endeavor with a pragmatic focus on achieving results that takes an evidence-based approach to operationalizing diversity. It offers an overarching conceptual framework for pursuing diversity in a national and international context; delineates and describes the competencies, knowledge and skills needed to take effective leadership in matters of diversity; offers new data about related practices in higher education; and presents and evaluates a range of strategies, organizational structures and models drawn from institutions of all types and sizes. It covers such issues as the reorganization of the existing diversity infrastructure, building accountability systems, assessing the diversity process, and addressing legal threats to implementation. Its purpose is to help strategic diversity leaders combine big-picture thinking with an on-the-ground understanding of organizational reality and work strategically with key stakeholders and allies. This book is intended for presidents, provosts, chief diversity officers or diversity professionals, and anyone who wants to champion diversity and embed its objectives on his or her campus, whether at the level of senior administration, as members of campus organizations or committees, or as faculty, student affairs professionals or students taking a leadership role in making and studying the process of change. This title is also available in a set with its companion volume, The Chief Diversity Officer.
Students First by
2022 Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature, University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA) Paul LeBlanc has reimagined higher education, with a focus on the most fundamental of functions: student learning. In Students First, he advocates for an entire higher education ecosystem in which students have the flexibility to gain, assess, and certify their knowledge on their own terms and timelines. In a perceptive analysis, LeBlanc provides a clear-eyed view of how and why higher education is failing to reach and serve a great many potential students. He then deftly explores how reform can address systemic inequities, improve college affordability, and broaden accessibility. Through case studies, he highlights alternative delivery models such as online, distance, and just-in-time learning, and he envisions a learning environment that values competencies rather than credit hours. LeBlanc describes how these innovations and others will allow colleges and universities to help close the skills gap and respond to a rapidly evolving, technology-driven job market. Although a college education remains one of the great drivers of socioeconomic mobility, today's higher education industry has built financial, logistical, and practical barriers that keep out the very students who are most in need of opportunity. Students First makes a persuasive case that realigning US educational priorities will enable larger populations of graduates to enjoy a return on investment in the form of good pay, meaningful work, and a stable future. As the book emphasizes, such change is imperative, for in better serving its students, higher education will better serve society.
MIT Libraries collection
Proquest Newsstand database
For more news sources, see our News Guide
Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.
Suggest a purchase
Let us know about materials needed to support online learning and remote work at MIT.
