Online Reference Material
The following links will take you to excellent sources of background information on people, places, terms, and trends.
- Britannica OnlineOnline version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Covers a wide variety of subjects.
- Gale Literarature Resource Center (Gale Literary Databases)Excellent source of biographical information on individual writers, as well as summaries of the significant trends of what literary critics have written about them.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOnline dictionaries from many different fields
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismGreat source for information on particular kinds of literary theory.
- Literature Online (LION)Contains biographical information on individual writers, as well as links to articles about them.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryOnline encyclopedias in many different subjects
Biography and Context
The links below will take you to sources that will provide overviews of the writers you've been studying this term, including some of the themes that permeate their work. Both contain more than just biographical information, including literary criticism and other kinds of resources.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterIncludes biographical and critical material on thousands of literary authors of all periods and many geographical areas.
- Literature Online (LION)Contains biographical essays and literary criticism, primarily from authors writing in English. Also includes some digital versions of prose, poetry, and drama. Also provides access to The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
