Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

21L.705: Major Authors: Paradise Lost and Twentieth Century Fantasy: Home

Research guide for Mary Fuller's 21L.705 seminar

Getting started

The links and resources listed below will help you find material for your assignment.

Oxford Handbooks Online

These series of e-books from Oxford are designed to provide an overview of current scholarship around a given author or topic. They can be useful for getting a sense of recent trends.

Find books

Barton: MIT Libraries' Catalog


Use Barton to search for books and other materials at MIT.

    Barton can be a useful source for finding both print and e-books. During the pandemic, print books can be mailed to addresses in the US and Canada. Try title searches with words like companion or introduction along with Milton. The results will likely include books designed for undergraduates like yourselves, and will orient you to the state of current scholarship on his work.

    Many thanks to Kelly Ng for developing these videos.

    Scholarly articles

    The article database listed below is the most comprehensive, although since it does not contain the full-text, you will have to click on an "SFX" button to link to another source. Likewise, it is searching descriptions of the articles, not the full-text of the articles, so err on the side of keeping your searches somewhat broader than you would in a full-text database.

    Search Tips for MLA:

    • Click "Search"
    • Type the name of the writer you're researching into a search box and change the default to "Primary Subject Author"
    • Type the name of the work you're researching into a search box and change the default to "Primary Subject Work"

    Scholarly articles with full-text

    Because the databases listed below can search the entire text of the articles they contain, you can be very specific in your searches and type multiple keywords if you wish. However, keep in mind they are not comprehensive - searching the MLA will probably turn up many more article citations. 

    Search Tips:

    • Try the name of the author, the work, and your topic words in the search box, separated by the word "and"
    • For example, milton AND "paradise lost" AND gender

    Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian

    More ways to get help

    If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:

     

    Ask Us
    Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.