Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hayden Library Closure
The Hayden Library is currently closed for renovation until fall 2020, so books in the Hayden basement are inaccessible at this time. When searching the Barton catalog below, the location will be updated if the book is being temporarily housed in a different library, or if not, the record will include a link to find a copy in Borrow Direct. Borrow Direct is a network of other libraries, and you can directly request the book from there.
Books requested in Borrow Direct should take 3-4 business days to get here.
Titles on Stoppard, Churchill, Barker, Beckett, and Kwei-Armah
The list below is not an exhaustive list of everything in the MIT Libraries, but rather a small sampling of titles that you might find useful. The descriptions of each were provided by the publisher.
Call Number: PN2039.M29 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
A timely book that identifies the practice of '(syn)aesthetics' in artistic style and audience response, which helps to articulate the power of experiential practice in the arts. This exciting new approach includes interviews with leading practitioners in of theatre, dance, site-specific work, live art and technological performance practice. Includes chapters on Kwei-Armah and Churchill.
A Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performance by
Call Number: PN2270.F45.S68 1996
Publication Date: 1996-12-06
This work is a unique collection of key articles on feminist theatre and performance form The Drama Review (TDR). Carol Martin juxtaposes theory and practice to provide an exceptionally comprehensive overview of the development of feminist theatre.
This outstanding collection includes key texts by theorists such as Elin Diamond, Peggy Phelan and Lynda Hart and interviews with practitioners including Anna Deveare Smith and Robbie McCauley. It also contains full performances texts by two of the most influential and controversial practiitioners of feminist theatre: Dress Suits to Hireby Holly Hughes and The Constant State of Desireby Karen Finley.
A Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performanceis an essential purchase for students of theatre studies, performance studies and women's theatre.
The Cambridge Introduction to Modern British Theatre by
Call Number: PN2595.S44 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-19
British theatre has long been regarded as a world-leader in terms of its quality, creativity and range. Starting in 1900, this book introduces the features that characterise modern and current British theatre. These features include experimental performances under motorways alongside plays by Stoppard and Ayckbourn, amateur theatre and virtual spaces, the emergence of the director, the changing role of writers and political and community shows. The book is clearly divided into four sections: where it happens, who does it, what they make and why they do it. It discusses theatre buildings and theatre which refuses buildings; company organisation, ensembles and collectives, and different sorts of acting. A large section describes the major work done for the stage, from Shaw through to Complicite, via poetic drama, different sorts of realism and documentary drama. The Introduction stands apart from other accounts of modern British theatre by bringing together buildings, people and plays.
Buzz Buzz! Playwrights, Actors and Directors at the National Theatre by
Call Number: PN2596.L7 N333 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-05
Containing over a hundred interviews conducted over the last fifteen years with leading directors, actors and writers at the National Theatre, Buzz Buzz! is a fantastic compendium that offers unrivalled insight into the work and practice of the best theatre talent. In these illuminating interviews playwrights such as Michael Frayn, Kwame Kwei-Armah, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, David Hare, Pam Gems and Tony Kushner and many others talk about the roots of their work, their methods of research, and how they collaborate with their directors, while actors from Fiona Shaw to Kenneth Branagh, and directors from Peter Hall to Marianne Elliott, contribute fascinating insights into their ideas and ways of working. The book covers plays by the Greeks and Shakespeare, English and European classics, and the best of modern English, Irish and American drama. Theatre writer and commentator Jonathan Croall draws on the vast wealth of interviews he's conducted at the National Theatre in this fascinating and wide-ranging book.
Comedy Matters: From Shakespeare to Stoppard by
Call Number: PR631.D46 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Comedy Matters traces the long tradition of the expansive comic embrace of cultural difference and diversity that manages to survive even in some of mankind’s darkest moments. Demastes argues that comedy has a hard-nosed, pragmatic dimension that can be mobilized against belligerent cultural forces. Drawing from the works of Shakespeare, Stoppard, and a number of other comic masters,Comedy Matters demonstrates how comedy continues to work against cultural regimentation by striving to re-calibrate our decision-making processes and challenging the stultifying rigidity of human economy in the broadest sense of the term.
Samuel Beckett in Context by
Call Number: PR6003.E282 Z819 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
When Samuel Beckett first came to international prominence with the success of Waiting for Godot, many critics believed the play was divorced from any recognisable context. The two tramps, and the master and servant they encounter, seemed to represent no one and everyone. Today, critics challenge the assumption that Beckett aimed to break definitively with context, highlighting images, allusions and motifs that tether Beckett's writings to real people, places and issues in his life. This wide-ranging collection of essays from 37 renowned Beckett scholars reveals how extensively Beckett entered into dialogue with important literary traditions and the realities of his time. Drawing on his major works, as well as on a range of letters and theoretical notebooks, the essays are designed to complement each other, building a broad overview that will allow students and scholars to come away with a better sense of Beckett's life, writings and legacy.
Samuel Beckett by
Call Number: PR6003.E282 Z5756 2014
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Since his death in 1989, it has become difficult to imagine that Samuel Beckett was once a virtually unknown writer. Born in 1906 into a respectable middle-class family in a Dublin suburb, he came late to fame in the early 1950s with the ground-breaking play, Waiting for Godot. Since Godot, Beckett's writings have been translated, published, and staged throughout the world. This highly accessible and original account offers a new opportunity to engage with a towering figure of Irish and world literature. The book offers a systematic overview of Samuel Beckett's best-known and most popular work - in poetry, drama, prose, radio, and television - along with his more difficult pieces. Original close readings explore his transformative work on language and form. For Beckett, life was a matter of doing time, while writing was a way of undoing it. In the process, writers, audiences, and readers enter into a different understanding of how it is to be human.
The New Cambridge Companion to Samuel Beckett by
Call Number: PR6003.E282 Z781726 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
In the past decade, there has been an unprecedented upsurge of interest in Samuel Beckett's works. The New Cambridge Companion to Samuel Beckett offers an accessible and engrossing introduction to a key set of issues animating the field of Beckett studies today. This Companion considers Beckett's lasting significance by addressing a host of relevant topics. Written by a team of renowned scholars, this volume presents a continuum in Beckett studies ranging from theoretical approaches to performance studies, from manuscript research to the study of bilingualism, intertextuality, late modernism, history, philosophy, ethics, body and mind. The emphasis on burgeoning critical approaches aids the reader's understanding of recent developments in Beckett studies while prompting further exploration, assisted by the guide to further reading.
Theatre of Catastrophe by
Call Number: PR6052.A6485.Z89 2006
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Fifteen varied essays discuss the style, language, and vision of Howard Barker, one of Britain’s most influential and controversial playwrights. An international range of academics offers illuminating interpretations of his work. Includes analyses of the political, moral, and historical aspects of his writing, its poetry and eroticism, its depiction of the figure of the artist, and Barker’s writing in performance.
Caryl Churchill by
Call Number: PR6053.H786.Z57 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
This short study traces the scope and development of Caryl Churchill's theatre from her early writing for radio and television, through her stage career of the 1970s and 1980s, to her recent major success, the Skriker.
Towards a Poetics of Postmodern Drama by
Call Number: PR6066.I53 Z683 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-15
The book is a study of Harold Pinter and Tom Stoppard, arguably the two most eminent British playwrights of the past sixty years or so, from a perspective of what it describes as a poetics of postmodern drama. Arguing for the application of Linda Hutcheon's model of postmodernism to the study of drama, Towards a Poetics of Postmodern Drama shows that postmodern drama should be seen as a self-consciously contradictory and double-coded phenomenon, one which simultaneously inscribes and subverts the conventional categories of dramatic representation. In spite of its indebtedness to Beckett's Absurdist and Brecht's Epic theaters, postmodern drama should not be conflated with either. This is primarily because postmodern drama retains a critical edge towards contemporary reality in a manner which Hutcheon very aptly terms as a 'complicitous critique'. The book demonstrates that both Pinter and Stoppard are pre-eminently postmodern in their treatment of issues such as the human subject, the notion of truth, historical verifiability and linguistic reference. Pinter's preoccupation with non-referential modes of language-use, the role of power in the construction of the subject, and unreliable memories is as potent a way of disrupting the representational status of drama as Stoppard's repeated recourse to devices such as parody, theater-within-theater and the fictional treatment of history.
The Cambridge Introduction to Tom Stoppard by
Call Number: PR6069.T6 Z617 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-22
Tom Stoppard is widely considered to be one of the most important dramatists of contemporary theatre. In this Introduction, William Demastes provides an accessible overview of Stoppard's life and work, exploring all the complexity and variety that makes his drama so unique. Illustrated with images from a diverse range of Stoppard productions, the book provides clear evaluations of his major works, including Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Travesties, Arcadia and The Coast of Utopia, to provide the most up-to-date assessment available. Detailed chapters situate each play in the context of its sources, which include Shakespeare and contemporary existential thought, espionage, quantum physics, chaos theory, romanticism, landscape design, nineteenth-century European intellectual thought and European totalitarianism. The book also includes a section on Stoppard's Academy Award-winning film Shakespeare in Love.
Tom Stoppard by
Call Number: PR6069.T6 Z715 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Tom Stoppard is justly famous for his innovative theatrical techniques. Daniel Jernigan argues that while much of Tom Stoppard's early work (Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead and The Real Inspector Hound, for instance) is postmodern, the remainder of his career essentially tracks backward from there--becoming "late modernist" in the 1970s (Travesties) and fully modernist in the 80s and 90s (The Real Thing and Arcadia). This pattern also makes sense of Stoppard's recent and uncharacteristic foray into dramatic realism with The Coast of Utopia (2002) and Rock 'n' Roll (2006), at which point the playwright seems to embrace the more straightforward rhetorical advantages of literary realism.
The Cambridge Companion to Tom Stoppard by
Call Number: PR6069.T6.Z615 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-20
This collection of fifteen essays offers both student and theatergoer a guide to the stage plays, novel, and screenplays of one of the most celebrated British dramatists since Noel Coward. Readers will find that the general and accessible description and analyses in these essays makes the large body of Stoppard's writing clear and approachable while preserving its rich humor. This is the first collection of essays to appear in many years addressing all of Stoppard's major work. It provides insights into the recent plays, Arcadia and Invention of Love, as well as the first extended examination of his work for screen, including a discussion of his co-authored, academy award-winning screenplay Shakespeare in Love. Photographs from key productions, a biography and chronology complete the volume and prepare the reader for future work by this extraordinary writer.