Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

21L.000: Writing about Literature: The Art of the Short Story: Find Articles

Class research guide for Ina Lipkowitz's section of Writing about Literature.

Scholarly Articles

The article databases listed below are the most comprehensive, although since they do not contain the full-text, you will have to click on an "SFX" button to link to another source or look up the article citation in Vera or Barton. Likewise, they are searching descriptions of the articles, not the full-text of the articles, so err on the side of keeping your searches somewhat broader than you would in a full-text database.

Search Tips for MLA:

  • Type the name of the writer you're researching and change the drop-down menu to "Person - About"
  • Type the name of the work you're researching and change the drop-down menu to "Name Of Work"

Scholarly Articles with Full-Text

Because the databases listed below can search the entire text of the articles they contain, you can be very specific in your searches and type multipe keywords if you wish. However, keep in mind they are not comprehensive - searching the databases listed above will probably turn up many more article citations. 

Search Tips:

  • Try the name of the author, the work, and your topic words in the search box, separated by the word "and"
  • For example, shakespeare AND othello AND race AND discourse

 

Literature, Global Studies and Languages, and Theater Arts Librarian

More ways to get help

If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:

 

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.