Library pages and other links
Manage Your References
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Discover Content
Vera is the primary gateway to these and all other electronic resources.
General Context
- Barton - Books and jounals (print and electronic) in the MIT Libraries
- MedlinePlus - Clearinghouse for health information available from the government and other reputable information providers
Research Literature
- PubMed - Definitive NCBI database for research in medicine and biosciences. Includes MEDLINE, other full-text resources, links to NCBI sequencing databases. 1966 - present.
- Web of Science - Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, plus cited reference searches & links to BIOSIS Previews 1973 - present.
Handbooks and Reference Guides
- Protocols and Methods - eg. Methods in Enzymology or Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- StatRef - Database of full-text of core medical textbooks and other reference sources.
- Knovel - Engineering and Science Handbooks - Search for scientific & engineering information via an extensive collection of engineering & scientific e-books.
Patents and Standards
Business and Government Literature
- Ask Us! - Quick Answers - An online knowledge base that provides starting points for specific research questions in the fields of business & management and economics.
- Clinical Trials.gov - note background and FAQ content
Find articles in full text
To find full text of articles:
- Try the SFX button
(or
any link that says full text) in the database, if one is present. Note: For
this to work in PubMed you must use the Vera PubMed url: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/medline-pm. - Next, search for the name of the journal in Barton.
- Vera will indicate whether the journal is online.
To find full text of books:
- Use Barton to search for authors, titles, and keywords.
- Field trip: If you're going to use collections beyond the offerings of MIT Libraries, you can request access privileges at Harvard Medical School's Countway Library.
- If MIT does not own what you need, Interlibrary Borrowing is also an option. Allow 1-5 work days for most articles, so plan ahead!
Engineering & Science Librarian |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
