This is the "Islamic Collections" page of the "Islamic Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Islamic Architecture  

Information about finding images of Islamic architecture and the Islamic world.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/islam-arch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Islamic Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visual Collections

The Aga Khan Documentation Center holdings in Islamic architecture are listed below. Refer also to the Rotch Visual Collections page for general information about finding images.

Aga Khan Visual Archive

See the Aga Khan Visual Archive page of this Guide.

Teaching Collection

The Teaching Collection in Rotch Visual Collections contains images, maps, plans, and drawings of Islamic art, architecture, and cities in support of the activities and curriculum of the Aga Khan Program in Islamic Architecture.  The slide collection is open for research to all members of the MIT community.  Images are subject to copyright protection and may only be used within fair use guidelines.

We invite faculty members to make requests for new acquisitions needed for courses and seminars; please contact Andrea.

Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Rotch Visual Collections has a large collection of slides of projects submitted to the Aga Khan Award for Architecture.  These images depict original designs, restoration, conservation, and urbanization projects around the world, and are available for reproduction for educational use and for publication.  For recent (ca. post-2000) Award winners, refer to Archnet.

Kidder Smith India Collection

The Architecture of India slide collection contains over 2,000 images of Indian architecture taken by the architect and architectural photographer G.E. Kidder Smith.  The images document sites in India ranging from early Buddhist, Hindu, and Jain sites to 20th century works by Le Corbusier and are available for reproduction for educational uses and publication.

Peter Serenyi Collection

A collection of over 1,000 images of Indian architecture spanning pre-Islamic to modern periods, taken by Northeastern University professor emeritus Peter Serenyi. The bulk of the collection has been digitized and is available in DOME, and images are available for reproduction for educational uses and publication.

The collection also includes photographs, drawings, blueprints, correspondence, interview transcripts, manuscripts and copies of published material dating between 1955 and 1985 concerning specific architects, engineers and planners of Modern Indian Architecture.

 

Highlights

A sampling of some of the strengths found in the Islamic image collections:

        Hyderabad, India                      Cairo, Egypt                    Mughal Architecture in India

 Charminar Mosque of Ahmad ibn Tulun Taj Mahal

All images found in DOME.  MIT certificates required to see full-sized images.

Aga Khan Visual Archivist

Profile Image
Andrea Schuler
Contact Info
Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture Documentation Center, Rotch Library 7-238
617-253-6129
Send Email

Program Head

Profile Image
Sharon C. Smith, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture
Documentation Center
Building 7-238
617.324.5022
Send Email
 

DOME

Find Images from the MIT Libraries' Collections

 

MIT Libraries catalog

Barton: MIT Libraries' Catalog

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | MIT | Contact Us

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip