Several examples of Qur'anic manuscripts from the Cambridge University Library collection.

Digitized manuscripts from the Walters Art Museum

A collection of over 280 manuscripts dating from the 10th to 20th centuries CE, selected from Houghton Library and the Harvard Art Museum/Arthur M. Sackler Museum.

A compilation of links to digitized Islamic manuscripts (site is in German, but not all links are)

Large database of references for Persian paintings, Ottoman paintings, Arab paintings and Mughal paintings. This site enables you to locate printed reproductions, commentaries and weblinks for thousands of Islamic paintings from over 230 collections all over the world.

An interactive database of seal impressions found in Islamic manuscripts from the Chester Beatty Library.

Manuscripts of the Muslim World is a project to provide digital editions of more than 500 manuscripts and 827 paintings from the Islamic world. The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts in Arabic and Persian, as well as Coptic, Samaritan, Syriac, Turkish, and Berber. The primary partners are Columbia University, the Free Library of Philadelphia, and the University of Pennsylvania, with significant contributions from Bryn Mawr College and Haverford College.

Islamic, South Asian, and Hebrew illuminated manuscripts from the Bodleian Library

Brown University Libraries collection of forty distinct manuscripts of the Qur’an plus numerous Persian manuscripts, calligraphic panels, Persian and Central Asian ceramics and other art objects and miniature paintings from the Persian, Mughul and Indian traditions.

Digitized manuscripts from the largest collection of Islamic manuscripts in North America

Digitized manuscripts from the University of Edinburgh. A large part of the Oriental Manuscript Collection consists of Arabic and Persian manuscripts.

Partial inventory of collections. Enter "India" into the search bar.

Search for "Mughal" in the Artist or Culture box of the Quick Search box.

Search for "Mughal" in the "Search the online collection..." tab.

Search for "Inde" in the "Nom de pays" box in the left column of search boxes, and select "Les images numerisees" at the top right of the screen. Click "chercher".

Browse all online Mughal miniatures at the Bodleian.

Search for "Mughal" in the "Cultures/periods/dynasties" box.

Search for "Mughal" in the search box.

Choose "Browse" at the left side of the page, then browse by thematic category "Style & Type," then choose "Mughal".

Browse the collection or search the photostream using the box in the top right corner.

Search for "Mughal" in the Quick Search box.

Search for "Mughal" in the quick search box.

Search "Mughal" in the "Search the Collection" box.

Search for "Mughal" in the box at the top of the page. After this, narrow the search using the "Object type/ Material" filter, choosing "Manuscripts."

See “Art of the Mughals Before 1600,” “Art of the Mughals After 1600” & the “Shah Jahan Album.”

Search "Mughal" in keywords box, and check off "works with images" at bottom of page under "Show Only" heading.

Type "Mughal" into the keyword search.

Click on "Works of Art" in the top right.

Choose "Artist" from the search drop down box, and enter "Mughal" in the search box.

Search for "Mughal," check off "Only records with images"

Search for "Mughal" in the Search Terms box

Search photostream for "Mughal".

Type "Mughal" in search bar.

Search "Mughal" in the top search box, and "painting" in the "Title/Type of Object" box.

Partial inventory of collections. Type "Turkey" into the search bar.

Search for "Ottomane" in the "Recherche plein texte" box at the bottom left of the page, and select "Les images numerisees" to the right. Click "chercher".

Click on a subcategory of Ottoman painting.

Search for “Ottoman” in the “Cultures/Dynasties/Period” box.
On the results screen, check box next to "Ottoman dynasty" and filter by "images only" then click "Add selected terms to your object search."
On the search screen, narrow by "painting", then search for objects.

Search for “Ottoman” in the Quick Search box.

Do not use main search bar. Select "Ottoman Period" from the Period filter underneath search bar.

Type "Ottoman" into the search bar.

See Timelines “The Art of the Ottomans After 1600,” “The Art of the Ottomans Before 1600,” “The Greater Ottoman Empire 1600-1800,” & “The Later Ottomans and the Impact of Europe.”

Search "Ottoman" in keywords box, and check off "works with images" at bottom of page under "Show Only" heading.

Choose “Collection Highlights” from the calligraphy collection or the painting collection

Click on "Works of Art" in the top right.

Search for "Ottoman" (or Ottoman painting, etc.), check off "Only records with images".

Search for "Ottoman" in the Search Terms box.

Search photostream for "Ottoman".

Partial inventory of collection. Search "Iran" and limit to the period of 1500 - 1750.

Search for "Safavide" in the "Recherche plein texte" box at the bottom left of the page, and select "Les images numerisees" to the right. Click "chercher".

Search for “Safavid” in the “Cultures/Dynasties/Period” box.
On the results screen, check box next to "Safavid dynasty" and filter by "images only" then click "Add selected terms to your object search."
On the search screen, narrow by "painting", then search for objects.

Search for "Safavid" in the search box.

Choose "Browse" at the left side of the page, then browse by thematic category "Style & Type," then choose "Persian".

Search for “Safavid” in the Quick Search box.

Do not use search bar. Select "Safavid period" from the "Period" filter under the search bar.

Enter "Safavid" into the keyword search. Then limit results by choosing "Manuscripts" from the "Object Type/Material" filter on the left side.

See "The Art of the Safavids Before 1600," "The Arts of Iran 1600-1800," & "The Shahnama of Shah Tahmasp"

Search "Safavid" in keywords box, and check off "works with images" at bottom of page under "Show Only" heading.

A comprehensive collection of manuscripts of the Shahnama, the Persian epic 'Book of Kings', completed by the poet Firdausi in AD 1010, together with a display of the miniature paintings in each one.

277 illustrations from five illustrated manuscripts of the Shahnama that are housed in Princeton University's irestone Library, dating from 1544 to 1674 AD.

Click on "Works of Art" in upper right

Search for "Safavid" in the Search Terms box.

Search photostream for "Safavid".