A compilation of the annual reports of academic and administrative units of the Institute summarizing the year’s accomplishments and introducing future plans.

1885-1930 available online. Note that you can check out the hard copies for all years from Hayden Library.

The MIT Course Catalogue, also referred to as the MIT Bulletin and the MIT Course Catalog, is a rich source of information on the courses and programs that have made the Massachusetts Institute of Technology the major institution it is today. Note that the hard copies for all years are available in the Institute Archives and Hayden Library.

1882-present.
There are some challenges to using the search function on the web site.
(1) Search results aren't organized by article, so you should actually click on the PDF to find the relevant results.
(2) All the text has not been accurately processed with OCR, so it's possible there are results that won't come up in your search.
(3) The search box for some of the back volumes does not work at all. You'll run into a problem if you see "Please access this volume in our legacy archives" rather than a listing of all the issues. (For example, vol. 24 vs. vol. 97).
If the search box for a specific volume isn't working, here's a workaround using Google:
* Go to home page of The Tech.
* Click on "in our legacy archives" link.
* Copy the URL from your browser (e.g., tech.mit.edu/archives/VOL_024/).
* Do a Google search with this format: "site:[INSERT URL] [INSERT SEARCH TERMS]" (e.g., "site:tech.mit.edu/archives/VOL_024/ parade").
This one-minute video shows you how to do the search.

1872-1984

Text only; no images or layout. 1980 - present.

An excellent resource for US and foreign newspapers, many of which are archived from their inception. This page lists BPL historical newspaper holdings on microfilm.

Thousands of newspapers, available in full-page facsimile, with searchable full text. Most are U.S. titles, with some international coverage, and most are fairly small-circulation newspapers. 1759-present.

1851-2013

1899-present. Hayden Library - Humanities Journals LJ.T257. There's an index to the Tech Review in the MIT Archives.

Indexing, abstracting, and some links to full-text for many general interest magazines, in both Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982) and Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 to present). Great source for 20th-century historical primary sources.

Complete archive of The New Yorker, including full page images. V.1 (1925) - present.