LibGuides: Aeronautics and Astronautics: Home

Articles & research papers

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection [formerly called Aerospace and High Technology Database]
Aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences & international coverage & supporting fields - chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications & electronics 1962 - present.
Aerospace Research Central (ARC) - formerly the AIAA database
Full text of all technical papers & articles from AIAA journals, and selected eBooks.
Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
SAE Mobilus
1906 - present: full text of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) papers; includes current Aerospace Standards.
Citations only for other publisher content (like JSAE) or other SAE standards.
Web of Science
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.

Books, handbooks, standards and theses

Use these links to books, theses and other related publications to get started. Search our collections, the MIT Libraries catalog, for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries. Or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

Books 24x7
Covers the following subjects related to Aerospace: Aircraft Design, Flight Dynamics & Control, Flight Testing, Manufacture & Planning, Propulsion, Radar, Space System Design, Structures & Materials and Technologies.
Dissertations & Theses
1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.
Knovel
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.

Click here for an alphabetical list of standards (Excel) held in the MIT Libraries

Find books & more at MIT and beyond

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

AeroAstro Librarian

Barbara Williams

Contact:

barbaraw@mit.edu
Room 10-500
617.253.5666

Definitions

Aerospace: The umbrella term for all things AeroAstro.

Aeronautics: Studies the mechanics of air.

Astronautics: Studies the mechanics of space beyond the earth's atmosphere.

Call numbers

Aerospace TL 500--4050

Aero TL 500-779

Astro TL 787-4050

Located on 7th Floor of Barker

Journal indexing

Find which database indexes a particular journal.

Ulrichsweb

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Aeronautics and Astronautics: Home