Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for articles and papers
These are the main licensed databases from the MIT Libraries. Links to ArXiv and other preprints are on the next tab.
ADS - Astronomical Data System
Find astronomy, planetary science, astrophysics and related literature.
Web of Science
Search for articles, track citations; now includes proceedings
This extensive earth science database includes extraterrestrial geology; geochemistry and geophysics
NASA/IPAC Extragalatic Database (NED)
Contains millions of extragalactic objects, including names, positions, basic data, and references to published papers.
Contains basic data, cross-identifications, measurements, and references to published works for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for many, 1997 forward
Keeping up with research
Find new journal articles about your research topic!
There are a number of services via email and RSS for accessing tables of contents of new journal issues and research alerts (results of literature searches you construct, run periodically).
This site will provide links to these services, as well as an explanation of what RSS is and how it works.
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.