Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Audio and Video
Music Online: Listening
Includes American Music, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Naxos Music Library
Emphasis is on classical music, but global in coverage and does include other genres.
DRAM [Database of Recorded American Music]
Streaming music and complete original liner notes from independent record labels and sound archives. Includes lots of musical traditions with a focus on important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video of documentaries from a range of disciplines, and including music and the arts.
Naxos Video Library
Includes "musical journeys" organized geographically, and a small collection of world music videos.
If you're having trouble connecting to online text or streaming content:
Lewis Music Library Department Head
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.