Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BartonPlus - Classic Barton + e-resources
Find Scholarly Articles About Music
These sources may list articles that are not listed in BartonPlus. Some provide you with the complete text of the article, while others will give you just a short description and a link to our full-text finder, a tool that will search for the complete article in a different source.
During our presentation in class, Avery mentioned two specific magazine titles: Rolling Stone and Billboard. Both of them are indexed in Academic Search Complete . (This means that you will not be able to see all the articles on their own web sites, but you WILL be able to search for them and read them using the index.)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community.
Music Index Online
Coverage is slightly different from RILM. May be less scholarly than RILM, but may also cover more popular music topics.
JSTOR music journals
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines over many decades; this link will allow you to search just the music journals. Note that issues from past 5 years may not be included.
The databases below allow you to search across multiple disciplines:
A collection of major scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
References to articles in the fields of literature, drama, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
Search a large body of scholarly research publications using the Google search engine. Link directly to MIT’s subscriptions in Settings / Library links.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database which indexes and abstracts periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, books, and other publications and provides thousands of full-text articles.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually not the most current)
Additional Sources of Articles
- Newspapers and other news sources can be excellent sources of information about popular music topics.
- Global Newsstream
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources including today's issues the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, the Guardian, the Globe and Mail, etc. Archives for most sources go back to the 1980s. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis)
Nexis Uni Academic provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources.
- Library PressReader
Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers from scores of countries in dozens of languages in full-color, full-page format. Current three months only.
Many more are listed on the Newspaper Research Guide.
- Get access to online resources from public libraries. Any MA resident can get a Boston Public Library e-borrowing card.
If you're having trouble connecting to online text or streaming content:
Lewis Music Library Department Head
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.