The following repositories are located within the greater Boston area and may have archival sources of interest. 

• New England Historic Genealogical Society 
• Massachusetts Historical Society 
• Massachusetts State Archives 
• Boston Public Library Special Collections
• Boston Athenaeum
• History Cambridge (formerly Cambridge Historical Society)
• City of Boston Archives and Records Management
• National Archives at Boston (Waltham, Massachusetts)

University Libraries:

• Harvard University Archives
• Harvard Business School Baker Library and Special Collections
• Harvard Radcliffe Institute's Schlesinger Library
• Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives
• Boston University Archives
• Boston College Libraries
• Northeastern University Archives & Special Collections
• Emerson College Archives & Special Collections
• Simmons University Archives

The front cover of the Italian newspaper "La Tribuna Illustrata della Domenica" with a full-page illustration of people near a harbor with their backs to the water and ships in the distance.

La Tribuna Illustrata, Domenica, La Disgrazia al Parco Aerostatico Presse Monte Mario, from the Theodore N. Vail Collection of Aeronautical Prints, Broadsides, and Clippings (MC-0680). 

• Social Networks and Archival Contexts (SNAC) Cooperative
• ArchiveGrid
• Digital Commonwealth, a consortium of libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies across Massachusetts

Many students and professors during and after their time at MIT were involved in government projects or were completing work recognized and valued by the United States government. The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration and the Library of Congress house some collections relating to former MIT students, professors, and projects based on campus.

• U.S. National Archives and Records Administration 
• Library of Congress