Accessibility Resources: Service Desk Guide

Institute

• MIT Disability and Access Services (DAS) - Ensures access for qualified students with disabilities, and consults on digital accessibility and assistive technology.
  • Phone: 617-253-1674
  • Email: das-all@mit.edu
  • Report a physical or digital access concern to DAS
• MIT Captioning & Accessibility - Provides information about captioning and accessibility of digital content at MIT.
  • Report an accessibility concern or submit a captioning request

Libraries

• MIT Libraries Services for Persons with Disabilities
  • Report an accessibility concern to MIT Libraries

• Audiobooks
  • Go to Search Our Collections.
  • Under the search box, click the facet All Items and select Audio.
  • In the search box, enter “audio books” and perform the search. The results will include both “audiobooks” and “audio books”.
• Physical Copies of Electronic Resources
  • Submit an ILLiad request with a note indicating that you need a print copy for accessibility reasons.
• HathiTrust Accessible Text Request Service
  • Through this service, eligible patrons can request works formatted for use with adaptive technologies. This includes copies of public domain works as well as in-copyright materials that are held currently or have been held previously by the MIT Libraries. Access to this service is provided by MIT Disability and Access Services.

• MIT Disability and Access Services: Assistive Technology Software and Tools - Covers built-in accessibility tools, document conversion tools (e.g., Kurzweil 3000 and SensusAccess), math software, screen reading software, and speech recognition software.
• MIT Libraries: Assistive Equipment & Software - Covers equipment and software available in the Libraries.
• Screen Readers
  • Screen reading software applications identify the text being displayed on a computer screen and convert the text to audio. Screen readers, such as NVDA (NonVisual Desktop Access), can be used to access library materials that are available in electronic formats. For more screen reader options, see MIT DAS: Assistive Technology Software and Tools.
  • NVDA Demo - Produced by MIT Accessibility and User Experience.
  • Screen Reader Demo - Produced by MIT Disability and Access Services.
  • If a patron is having trouble accessing library materials with their screen reader, please encourage them to report an accessibility problem to the MIT Libraries and help them find another way to access the materials.
• SensusAccess FAQ - SensusAccess converts documents into different formats, including: MP3 audio files, editable text, Accessible PDFs, ebooks, Braille, translation, DAISY formats, BeeLine Reader.
• MIT IS&T: Computing Equipment Loan Program - IS&T maintains a limited pool of computing equipment available for loan to eligible MIT community members.

• MIT Libraries: Audio/Video Captioning & YouTube Hosting (MITL Staff Web) - Covers how to request captioning and uploading to the MIT Libraries YouTube channel.
• MIT Captioning & Accessibility - Covers how members of the MIT community can get a video captioned. Includes training materials and a captioning request form.

• Google Translate - If a patron speaks a language other than English, and you can confirm that they would prefer to communicate in that language, without making assumptions, offer to use Google Translate to type information back and forth. Ask the patron to write in their preferred language, and you can engage in a conversation through Google Translate.
• Inclusive Language Guide - Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Supports the use of culturally sensitive terms and phrases that center the voices and perspectives of those who have been historically marginalized or stereotyped.
• What are some hints for communicating with individuals who have disabilities? - From the DO-IT Center at the University of Washington.
• Service Animals
  • Guidance on interacting with patrons with service animals in the MIT Libraries:
    • Service dogs are allowed in the Libraries by law and should be welcomed.
    • Staff are not allowed to request any documentation for the dog, require that the dog demonstrate its task, or inquire about the nature of the person’s disability.
    • If there is a situation causing concern, or in situations where it is not obvious that the dog is a service animal, staff may ask only two specific questions:
      • Is the dog a service animal required because of a disability?
      • What work or task has the dog been trained to perform?
  • Frequently Asked Questions about Service Animals and the ADA - From ADA.gov.
  • Just Play It Cool: Tips for Interacting with Service Dogs - Short video produced by Freedom Service Dogs of America.

See the Event Planning tab

See the Making Content Accessible tab

Campus Maps

• MIT Campus Map
• MIT Accessibility Map - Copies available in the Disability and Access Services office (Room 5-104) and the main MIT Events and Information Center (Room 7-121).

Restrooms

• MIT Gendered Restrooms Map (labeled “Male” and “Female” on the map)
• MIT Inclusive Restrooms Directory
• Nearest All Gender Inclusive Restrooms
  • Hayden
    • Basement: single stalls
    • First floor: multi-stall on both sides of library, single stalls in corridor across courtyard
    • Second floor: multi-stall
  • Barker
    • Fifth floor: single stalls
  • Rotch
    • Second floor of Infinite Corridor, past Lobby 10: 4-201
  • Dewey
    • In 24/7 Quiet Study Room: single stall
• Nearest ADA Accessible Restrooms
  • Hayden
    • Across courtyard, turn left up ramp: 2-150 (Women), 2-152 (Men)
  • Barker
    • Infinite Corridor toward Lobby 7: 3-101 (Women), 7-107 (Men)
    • Elevator down, to the right: 3-301 (Women), 3-201 (Men, non-automatic door)
  • Rotch
    • 7-207 (Women, non-automatic door), 3-201 (Men)
    • Infinite Corridor toward Lobby 10: 3-101 (Women)
    • 4-401 (Women), 3-301 (Women), 3-201 (Men, non-automatic door)
  • Dewey
    • In 24/7 Quiet Study Room: single stall
• Nearest Restrooms with Free Menstrual Products
  • Hayden
    • All restrooms
  • Barker
    • Elevator down, to the left: 4-201 (All gender)
  • Rotch 
    • Second floor of Infinite Corridor, past Lobby 10: 4-201 (All gender)
  • Dewey 
    • All restrooms
• Nearest Restrooms with Infant Changing Stations
  • W20 Stratton Student Center: lower level women’s restroom
  • 2-150 (Women)
  • 3-301 (Women)
  • E-52 (first floor Women’s restroom)
  • All lactation rooms (see below)

Lactation Rooms (includes infant changing tables)

• Hayden 14E-207 - Contact ce-lib@mit.edu or submit Hayden Library Lactation Room Access Form
• Barker 10-384 - Contact worklife@mit.edu or bma@mit.edu
• Rotch 3-369 - Contact me-facilities@mit.edu
• Dewey E51-014 (Basement) - Contact slquestions@mit.edu

Religious & Spiritual Spaces

• MIT Chapel - Non-denominational space open to students at all hours if they swipe their MIT ID.
• MIT Religious Activities Center - Gathering spaces available.
• Prayer Rooms - Contact slquestions@mit.edu to request access to a prayer room. Specify which room you want access to, and include your 9-digit MIT ID number.
• Hayden 14E-207 (Hayden Library Lactation Room) - If scheduling permits, current Libraries staff members may request use of the room for religious uses. To request access, use the Hayden Library Lactation Room Access Form.

• See Institute and External Resources tab
• Perkins School for the Blind
• National Braille Press
• Anti-Ableism LibGuide page - From Simmons University Library.