LibGuides: 21H.346: France, 1660-1815: Find Primary Sources

Books

To find book primary sources, use library catalogs like Barton and WorldCat.

Subheadings such as "correspondence," "sources," "personal narratives," and "speeches" can point to primary sources.
Pair these subheadings with keywords or topical subject headings in Barton to identify relevant sources in the MIT Libraries.
See this table for other possible subheadings.

The ARTFL Project
Contains several thousand French-language texts from the 13th to the 20th centuries in literature, philosophy, arts, sciences, such as Diderot and D'Alambert's Encyclopédie and CRL Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848.
Euro Docs: History of France - Primary Documents
Links to online primary source documents in French history.
Compiled by Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University Library.
French Studies Web: French History - Documents, Data Files, Primary Literature
Links to online primary source documents in French history.
From the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert - Collaborative Translation Project
An ongoing project to translate the articles of the Encyclopedia from French into English.
Sponsored by the University of Michigan.
Google Book Search
Many thousands of searchable books digitized by Google in collaboration with libraries and publishers.
Gallica
Provides access to tens of thousands of digital works (major editions, journals, dictionaries) and images. Texts are in French.
From the Bibliotheque nationale de France.
Super Enlightenment
Contains thirty-six texts written in French between 1716 and 1835.
Sponsored by Stanford University.

ARTstor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
CESAR Database
French plays, people, and performance spaces (17th and 18th centuries).
Hosted by Oxford Brookes University (UK).

Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century.
At Tufts, Wellesley, Brandeis, and Boston College.
Making of the Modern World
A comprehensive digital collection for the study of early economic, political, business, and social history for the period 1460-1850.
At Tufts.
British Periodicals Online
Hundreds of digitized British periodicals from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.
At Boston College.
Times Digital Archive
Searchable online version of the Times of London.
At Tufts, Wellesley, and Boston College.

Contact: