A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. [Note: You can browse by geography to find images from specific countries, including photographs.]
A collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 35,000 declassified documents - totalling more than 200,000 pages - have been gathered through use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Covers all aspects of the Arab-Israeli relationship from biblical times to the present, with an emphasis on the era beginning with World War I. The 4th volume includes 168 primary source documents. 4 vol., 2008.
Full-text archive of historical legal and governmental information, including world constitutions, treaties, Congressional Record, Presidential papers, and Foreign Relations of the United States.
Annual publication featuring documents covering the most significant events of the year. Documents include presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decision, scientific findings, cultural discussions, and other primary sources. 1972 - present.
Thousands of newspapers, available in full-page facsimile, with searchable full text. Most are U.S. titles, with some international coverage, and most are fairly small-circulation newspapers. 1759-present.
Database of questions from public opinion polls around the world. Search question text and get poll results. 1986 - present. Please click on 'logout' when finished to release access to another user, as only one user is allowed access at a time.
Contains the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. 1840 - present.
A list provided by the State Department's Office of the Historian linking to freely available online primary source material in U.S. foreign relations, including declassified documents and presidents' papers.
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. This is an incomplete run from 1861-1960. Hosted by the University of Wisconsin.
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. From the Department of State's Office of the Historian web site.
From the CIA's Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room, a collection of formerly classified documents, including intelligence reports, such as National Intelligence Estimates and other publications produced by the National Intelligence Council or its predecessor organizations.
Transcripts of interviews with U.S. diplomatic personnel from the American Memory web site of the Library of Congress. Browse by subject to find interviews relevant to Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict.
Back issues of the popular news magazine. (Hint: you can use the free online search to identify articles and then make a scan/copy from the print version in Hayden, or request through ILB if that issue is not in the library, to see the original article in context.)
Harvard has a trove of online databases of primary source material, including historical newspapers, government documents, letters and diaries, and much more. With your Harvard Special Borrower card, you can visit Harvard libraries and use these databases on the premises (sorry, you can't use them remotely). Take a look at the list of history databases for anything promising for your primary source research!
A database of the newspapers on microfilm at Harvard's Widener Library, searchable by geography and date span. The newspaper microfilm are accessible with a Harvard Special Borrowers Card.
Musical recordings in a diverse range of styles from around the world. Search or browse by country of origin, cultural group, instrument, artist, language and more. Available online through the BPL. You'll need your BPL card, or else sign up for a free e-card.
Search
Account
