Books & Theses

• Search our Collections - Narrow results to books
• WorldCat - Search libraries worldwide to order through interlibrary loan
• MIT Theses Collection in DSpace
• Dissertations and Theses - (other universities) - citations of theses back to 1861. Full text of most theses from 1997 - present.
• Knovel Engineering and Scientific Handbooks - an extensive collection of scientific and engineering ebooks

Articles:

• Business Source Complete - for articles from major business and management journals and magazines
• Compendex - Covers engineering research journals.  Also includes Inspec, for electronics, computing, robotics research
• Factiva - international & U.S. news sources, trade publications
• Newspapers - direct subscriptions to NYT, WSJ, Economist, Financial Times, and Boston Globe. Register for an account.
• Web of Science: a good place to find articles from multiple disciplines

Company research

• D&B Hoovers - searchable directory of millions of public and private U.S. and international companies
• Orbis - Contains information on public and private companies worldwide. It can be used to research individual companies, or to screen for companies meeting certain financial, geographic or operating criteria

Industry research

• BMI Research - reports on 30+ industries in 100+ countries. Industry sector, economic, political and company research, including political and economic risk analysis.
• IBISWorld Industry Reports - detailed industry reports for US, China
• EMIS - reports & data on emerging markets in Asian, Latin American, African, Middle Eastern countries

Market Research

• BCC Research - reports on advanced materials, biotechnology, life sciences, healthcare, environment, and other STEM topics. 
• Forrester Research - trends, best practices, models, case studies on a broad range of technology topics. Log-in with your MIT email
• Frost & Sullivan - reports on transportation, logistics, healthcare, information and communication technologies, ecommerce and more   
• Gartner Group Reports -  reports on available technologies and products with analyis on impact on financial services, healthcare, education, government, and SMEs
• Passport GMID - market research on consumer products covering trends, outlook, distribution channels and more.
• Technavio Reports - covers broad range of industries including consumer and retail, automotive and components, chemicals, food and beverage, energy, healthcare, life sciences, and ICT

• CEIC - macroeconomic, industrial and financial time series data for over 200 countries.
• Dewey Data - datasets across a variety of categories including companies, consumer transactions, consumer behavior, workforce, mobility, real estate, social media, and more. Click on “Get started” box on the Dewey platform to create an account and get access.
• EIU Country Reports -  reports cover politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment for nearly 200 countries.

Need help with reusing figures?  Have questions about copyright?  These links will help!

For more databases and resources, try these research guides:

• Companies
• Industries
• Market Research
• News
• Standards

See all Research Guides by Subject