Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional library and archives organizations
As a profession the library and archives field is incredibly white and female. Efforts to diversify exist, but there is a lot of work to do. This subpage features LIS specific books about diversity in the profession, professional organizations' resources, and specific support for people of color in this field.
Resources for BIPOC library employees
In the traditions of many womanist, feminist, Black, Indigenous, and class-struggle-identified publications work as deeply grounded in a social justice/grassroots framework, we realized there weren’t many spaces for us and we want to make one ourselves for ourselves.
We Here is a supportive community/space for library and archive workers and library and information science students who are Black + Indigenous + and Persons of Color (BIPOC). Some of the ways in which We Here can be described is as a support group, collaboration network, and mentorship platform. We Here has closed platforms specifically for BIPOC and open channels for everyone else.
We Here seeks to provide a safe and supportive community for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in library and information science professions and educational programs and to recognize, discuss, and intervene in systemic social issues that have and continue to plague these professions historically through present time.
Mindfulinlis on Instagram
For those learning about or practicing mindfulness in library information science, simply mindfulinlis. Specifically supports, amplifies, and believes the narratives of Black librarians, Black archivists, Black library workers, and Black healers.
Articles and Journals
Applying Concepts of Algorithmic Justice to Reference, Instruction, and Collections Work
2019, Authors: Leung, Sofia; Baildon, Michelle; Albaugh, Nicholas. Description: "As part of the MIT Libraries Library Instruction and Reference Services (LIRS) department’s “Summer of Data” initiative, we participated in a project on algorithmic justice. The growth of artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, and big data present challenges and opportunities to academic and research libraries. These challenges and opportunities are not only operational, but also ethical, social, and political, and they prompt consideration of core professional and organizational values."
Diversity, Inclusion, and Social Justice in Library Technical Services
Authors: Kauffman, Rhonda Y; Anderson, Martina S. Description: This chapter focuses on the challenges and opportunities in undertaking a sustained effort to achieve diversity, inclusion, and social justice specifically within technical services. The authors highlight how technical services staff can use their unique position within libraries to dismantle existing structures of inequity and privilege by providing access to information and shifting resources to underrepresented groups.
Lack of diversity by the numbers in librarianship and in book stuff
Chris Bourg's blog Feral Librarian provides stats and links about the lack of diversity in the library world.
In The Library With The Lead Pipe - open access journal
Lead Pipe believes libraries and library workers can change the world for the better. We improve libraries, professional organizations, and their communities of practice by exploring new ideas, starting conversations, documenting our concerns, and arguing for solutions.
Professional organizations and conferences
LIS EDISJ Readings
Pushing the Margins by
Call Number: Barker Library - Humanities & Science Temporary Collection | Z682.4.M56 P87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Using intersectionality as a framework, this edited collection explores the experiences of women of color in library and information science (LIS). With roots in black feminism and critical race theory, intersectionality studies the ways in which multiple social and cultural identities impact individual experience. Libraries and archives idealistically portray themselves as egalitarian and neutral entities that provide information equally to everyone, yet these institutions often reflect and perpetuate societal racism, sexism, and additional forms of oppression.
Topographies of Whiteness by
Call Number: Barker Library - Humanities & Science Temporary Collection | Z716.4.T67 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-30
Exploring the diverse terrain that makes up library and information science (LIS), this collection features the work of scholars, practitioners, and others who draw from a variety of theoretical approaches to name, problematize, and ultimately fissure whiteness at work.
Teaching for Justice by
Call Number: Unavailable due to renovation : Z668.T375 2017
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Borne of a professional development workshop, Teaching for Justice highlights the commitment and efforts of LIS faculty and instructors who feature social justice theory and strategies in their courses and classroom practices. This book is geared towards LIS instructors who have begun to incorporate social justice into their course content, as well as those who are interested in learning more about how to address social justice in their classrooms.
Asian American Librarians and Library Services by
Call Number: Unavailable due to renovation - Request via WorldCat | Z682.4.A83 A8195 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-08
What are the library services and resources that Asian Pacific Americans need? What does it mean to be an Asian Pacific American librarian in the 21st century? In Asian American Librarians and Library Services: Activism, Collaborations, and Strategies, library professionals and scholars share reflections, best practices, and strategies, and convey the critical need for diversity in the LIS field, library programming, and resources to better reflect the rich and varied experiences and information needs of Asian Americans in the US and beyond.
Diversity and inclusion in libraries : A call to action and strategies for success by
Call Number: 1 online resource (xviii, 192 pages)
Publication Date: 2019
This book explores some of the challenges that libraries and librarians face due to diversity and inclusion issues among library staff, as well as the patrons that they serve. Its goal is to increase awareness of and sensitivity to the social, cultural, and educational needs of everyone involved.
Diversity Programming and Outreach for Academic Libraries by
Call Number: Barker Library - Humanities & Science Temporary Collection | Z675.U5 H36 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
This book outlines issues surrounding diversity among students, faculty, and staff and how one urban university library is working to embrace and celebrate the diversity found in its building, on campus, and in the local community. This book illustrates how universities are uniquely situated to engage students in discussions about diversity and how academic libraries in particular can facilitate and ease these discussions.
Information Services to Diverse Populations by
Call Number: Barker Library - Humanities & Science Temporary Collection | Z711.8.C66 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
This book consolidates recent research and best practices to address the need for diversity and social justice in the training and education of LIS professionals. The development of cultural competency skills and social awareness benefits LIS students, their future employers, and the library profession at large--not to mention library customers and society as a whole. This textbook and comprehensive resource introduces students to the contexts and situations that promote the development of empathy and build cultural competence, examines the research in the areas of diversity and social justice in librarianship, explains how social responsibility is a foundational value of librarianship, and identifies potential employment and networking opportunities related to diversity and social justice in librarianship.
Through the Archival Looking Glass by
Call Number: Unavailable due to renovation - Request via WorldCat | CD950.T49 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Identity and inclusion in the archives: challenges of documenting one’s own community / by Valerie Love and Marisol Ramos -- Into the deep end: one archivist’s struggles with diversity, community, and collaboration and their implications for our profession / by Mark A. Greene -- Regarding indigenous knowledge in archives / by Jeffrey Mifflin -- Revolutionizing the archival record through rap: Cuban hip hop and its implications for reorienting the archival paradigm / by Tiffany-Kay Sangwand -- Archives (re)imagined elsewhere: Asian American community-based archival organizations / by Vivian Wong, Tom Ikeda, Ellen-Rae Cachola, and Florante Peter Ibanez -- A documentation case study: the desegregation of Virginia education (dove) project -/ by Sonia Yaco and Beatriz Betancourt Hardy -- Respecting their word: how the Braun Research Library works with native communities / by Kim Walters -- Building diversity inside archival institutions / by Sharon Thibodeau -- The family and community archives project: introducing high school students to archives and the archives profession / by Daniel Hartwig and Christine Weideman -- Pluralizing archival education: a non-zero-sum proposition / by Anne J. Gilliland.